Question about carbide pistol dies

PDA

Grassman
January 18, 2009, 01:28 PM
I have been loading for pistols for a couple months now, and was wondering about the wear on my dies. I have not purchased a brass tumbler yet, should I? I plan to.. just have not yet. I just clean the brass a little and reload. Is this causing undue wear on my .40 and 9mm RCBS dies? I have reloaded some brass several times,and the build up on the brass is getting worse. Am I doing damage?

If you enjoyed reading about "Question about carbide pistol dies" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rfwobbly
January 18, 2009, 02:27 PM
Grass Guy -
At a minimum you should be wiping the grunge off each cartridge case individually OR doing a bulk wash in a strong detergent like Tide or Dawn dish washing liquid. A detergent wash is very good for removing dirt and sand if you recycle brass from an outdoor range. Case cleaning is not to keep from hurting the dies (the carbide is very tough) but to keep from embedding a grain of grit in the carbide that would scrape up each case after that. A long, deep scrape along the axis of the case could lead to a lot of burst cases if it was deep enough and/or simply make for tough going with the press.

Another thing you can occasionally do is to take a barrel brush and thinner to your dies to remove any buildup of crud inside the dies. This is especially needed on the seater die if you used lubed lead bullets. That excess lube WILL build up in a thick cake.

As far as general operation, clean cases are simply going to cycle smoother through any press. Another item for you to consider is case lube. Even though you have carbide dies, that does not preclude the use of any case lube. The addition of a very little lube (say every 3rd case) will reduce the strain on your arm significantly.

Hope this helps!

joneb
January 18, 2009, 02:35 PM
I have not purchased a brass tumbler yet, should I?
Yes