Mossberg 930

PDA

Guero4179
January 31, 2009, 04:51 PM
Has anyone tried a 95065 heat shield on a 18.5" Mossberg 930
Basically the SPX is unavailable so I want to look into making an ersatz tactical if the 18.5" barrel can be found anywhere.

If you enjoyed reading about "Mossberg 930" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Fred Fuller
February 1, 2009, 01:37 AM
Just get the Field/Security combo- it comes with the 18.5" barrel, and a 28" VR barrel too (both smoothbore). I haven't seen anyone mention putting a heat shield on a 930 so far, dunno if it would fit or not. You'd have to check with the Mossberg go-to folks around here for that answer, and unfortunately I'm not a Mossberg expert (or much of any other kind either, for that matter).

IMHO heat shields are needless weight, and complications to cleaning and maintenance as well. The 930 has plenty of forearm to hold onto, since it can easily be loaded at the shoulder there's no need to turn it over for anything. And unless you're involved in turning ammo into expensive noise just for the heck of it, you aren't going to get the barrel too hot to touch. But if you're dead set on adding one, someone will come along sooner or later to tell you how. It's your money and your gun, you should get what you want.

BTW, my 930 combo literally just came in- I haven't even had a chance to shoot it yet. I gave up on ever finding a 930 SPX too, and decided to 'settle' for a plain ol' 930 just to see how it runs. My dealer got it from R&R, apparently just in time because they are out of stock again too ( http://www.rrarms.com/catalog.php?prod=G85325 ). Still out of stock on the SPX too, I see ( http://www.rrarms.com/catalog.php?prod=G85360 ).