Best Gun for Black Bear Defense

PDA

4Freedom
February 5, 2009, 02:45 AM
Hi, I am reading lot of posts online about guns to use for defense against Black Bears. I am planning on doing backwood hiking and will be in black bear and cougar country. I have had few bad run-ins in the past that made me nervous. I will use pepper spray for my first defense, but many dont realize that pepper spray is not always a reliable defense tool, especially on windy days and in the even you are ambushed at close range.

I have been reading about several guns. I am starting to think perhaps a .500 Smith & Wesson would be a good answer. I see Taurus makes some good priced high caliber guns, like the .454 Casull type. I am not sure which caliber woudl be best for me. I know there is many out ther.e

I am a novice shooter, but what to have a powerful gun in the woods, regardless. I woudl also carry a 9mm pistol for backup and probably get some hunting type rounds for my 9mm in the wods as well.

Some have suggested a 10mm Glock as a good potion for black bears, because it can take some good loads of bullets and has high round capacity. However, I am not sure if a 10mm will have enough knock down power. I also fear a gun like a .500 S&W may have a bit much recoil. I see they make some pretty large size and heavy barrel .500 S&W, so Iam wondering if the recoil is less?

I guess I would like a gun that has least recoil and would be most effective to use against a charging bear. I like the idea of having a high round capacity, but if a 5 or 6 shooter has low recoil and a more powerful punch, maybe that would be a better option.

I would say my budget for a black bear gun will run at $700-900 max. So, if someone can give me a good suggestions, I appreciate it. Also, if anyone has any knowledge about the high caliber Taurus .454 and .500 revolvers or the 10mm Pistols, I liek to know what they have to say.