Best 22lr conversion kit for the AR Platform

PDA

possum
February 11, 2009, 09:12 AM
i have a bushmaster ar and want a 22 conversion kit, the best that i can get. any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "Best 22lr conversion kit for the AR Platform" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
February 11, 2009, 10:54 AM
IMHO, Spikes Dedicated Upper or Spikes Conversion kit.

possum
February 11, 2009, 11:27 AM
i will look into that thank you.

jpwilly
February 11, 2009, 05:33 PM
CMMG sold at Brownells

gvnwst
February 11, 2009, 05:35 PM
1+ on the spikes upper/conversion kit. Mine dedicated upper is uttterly reliable, and more accurate than i am.

jpwilly
February 11, 2009, 05:41 PM
A dedicated upper isn't a conversion kit it's practically a 22lr rifle minus the FCG. A drop in bolt on the other hand is a "conversion kit". So OP which one are you asking about? Dedicated uppers are also usually quite a bit more $450+ Nothing against them in the end a better 22lr AR.

possum
February 11, 2009, 07:14 PM
i would prefer to go the conversion kit route, just replace the bolt mags and etc. the cheaper route for sure, and as long as it shoots good and is relibale enough for range work i will be happy.

bratch
February 11, 2009, 07:18 PM
I have a Spikes upper thats great.

I've heard their conversion kits are good as well.

mongo4567
February 11, 2009, 08:09 PM
I have a Spikes conversion on the way. The CMMG and Ciener are basically the same in function and reliability from what I've heard, but I chose Spikes because of the chromed bolt and o-ring seals.

ArmedBear
February 11, 2009, 10:28 PM
Model 1 .22 upper here. Also a great gun. Reliable, fun, accurate.

No chromed bolt, but it's not necessary. It does like Militec, just like a regular AR. Goes for a few bricks between cleanings if I want it to, as long as I don't let it get bone-dry.