Decatur, AL police officer shoots and kills himself.....

PDA

W Turner
October 2, 2003, 05:31 PM
Heard about this yesterday and meant to post it...........sad to hear. A good friend of mine was very close to this officer.

http://www.decaturdaily.com/decaturdaily/news/031001/officer.shtml

Minotaur

If you enjoyed reading about "Decatur, AL police officer shoots and kills himself....." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
J Miller
October 2, 2003, 06:35 PM
Minotaur,

I have no intention of putting this officer down, but I have a question.

That is, how and why would he or any other person point a gun at his chest while "cleaning" it.

I have been shooting and cleaning for almost 30 years and unless and untill the gun is proved to empty and unloaded and the action opened, it does not get pointed at any part of ME!

I realize that people can be distracted but, well I just can't see how one can clean a loaded gun.
It makes no sence to me.

Still his death is a great loss to his family, community, and department. My condolences to them.

Pangea
October 2, 2003, 09:00 PM
I was wondering why the flags at the schools and fire stations were at half staff today. RIP officer.

BowStreetRunner
October 2, 2003, 10:21 PM
welcome pangea and my sympathies to the officers family

einnor1040
October 2, 2003, 10:37 PM
Hey Pangea.

Glad you found this place.

That's really sad about the officer.

P95Carry
October 2, 2003, 10:57 PM
Sad in the extreme but . yet again as in these sorta cases ..... where were the four rules??

I have cleaned guns for 25 years .. and treat em no different now from first time ever .. respect' ....... care and THINK!!!!

TheeBadOne
October 2, 2003, 11:15 PM
R.I.P. Hope his family heals.

Holly76201
October 3, 2003, 01:03 PM