45acp headstamp importance

PDA

Mxracer239y
February 28, 2009, 03:09 PM
I am new to reloading, and have been gathering supplies/reading as much as I can. In reading 'The ABC's of Reloading,' I have gotten the impression that brass should be sorted, tested, and loaded according to manufacturer. While I can understand this for longer cases with some curvature to them (varying thicknesses, etc), I cannot picture the brand of 45acp brass being very important.

Please share- do you sort and load according to headstamp or load all the same in a pistol cartridge like this?

TIA

If you enjoyed reading about "45acp headstamp importance" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Dean Williams
February 28, 2009, 03:24 PM
I confess, for 45 ACP I do sort brass, but it's not because of any load differences that are weighing on my mind. I just do it because I like seeing the same face in a box of ammo.

If you are loading safely below a maximum charge, it's really not necessary. If you are loading up to max, sorting is a good idea, and the max load should be worked up for cases of all one head stamp, and very close case weights.

When I shot bullseye competition, I practiced almost every day, and loaded great gobs of mid-range 38 Spl ammo. I never sorted cases for that. Didn't have time and was not needed.

The Bushmaster
February 28, 2009, 04:56 PM
I'm with Dean. I like uniformaty. Must be all that military training...

tlen
February 28, 2009, 05:04 PM
I don't sort .45 ACP nor does anyone I shoot with. We all use range brass and load moderate loads, irrespective of head stamp, for Action Pistol. If you were loading +P maybe it would make a difference. We don't worry about case length or trimming either. Being a low pressure case, .45 ACP is very forgiving and generally one looses the case before they wear out.

putteral
February 28, 2009, 05:18 PM