Best .380 for ccw

PDA

burnse
March 3, 2009, 03:35 AM
Looking at ccw piece. I am a student looking (read: not rich) for a .380. Compact is good, but it doesn't need to be the smallest thing out there. I know there are good 9's but I have tried both and I like 380 better. I know that there are plenty of good 38 revolvers, but right now I'm looking at an auto.

Only criteria- I prefer a pistol with no de-cocker, I like an external hammer, but don't NEED one, though I would much rather have something hammer-fired than striker-fired, and most importantly: NO POLYMER FRAMES. I hate them.:barf:

Thanks ahead of time for responses!

If you enjoyed reading about "Best .380 for ccw" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
tlen
March 3, 2009, 03:52 AM
Kel Tec P3AT or Ruger LCP are BEST. Why carry a big chunk of metal around when you don't need to ?

Exmasonite
March 3, 2009, 04:31 AM
Not quite as tiny as the other 2 but i love my bersa thunder .380

Enjoyable to shoot, VERY accurate, very reliable, and a good deal at <$300. I've got 2400 rounds through mine without a single hiccup. I think i got my 2 tone at Gander for $219 3-4 yrs ago.

get to a range and rent one if you can. you won't be disappointed.

moooose102
March 3, 2009, 09:42 AM
"best" is a subjective term. only you can determine which is best for you. i have both a ruger lcp, and a kel-tec p3at. IMO,one is about as good as the other. each has it's own little things that i like. but overall, either will do the job at hand just as well. as for the bersa thunder, i did hold one before i bought my lcp. but it was larger and heavier than i wanted. i actually bought the second 380 for my wife, but she didn't like it (to much muzzle flip for her). no big deal. i have two kids, when they get old enough, they will both have a nice carry peice.

KevininPa
March 3, 2009, 09:44 AM