Eotech set up help


PDA






Bill2e
March 5, 2009, 08:39 PM
Well finally got the Eotech I have been looking for. (517 no need for night vision)


Anyway took it to the Range today and was having a hard time getting it zeroed in a 25 yards.

I finally got it set up on the front post and was doing OK with it, but I am not sure about it. I thought that once set the red dot was always on the point of impact, but when I move my head the thing dances all over the place. The gun is not moving just the red dot.

Different head angles would make the thing shoot 5-6 inches high, but if I kept my head down to where the reticule was on the front post it was dead on.

At this point I am not seeing the advantage over irons other than the cool factor.

What am I doing wrong?

If you enjoyed reading about "Eotech set up help" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
kirklandkie
March 5, 2009, 08:47 PM
that's the magic of holographic sites! no matter where your eye is the sight is always dead on to where the actual rifle is pointing. This feature also makes it so that in the case of a damaged or dirty sight you can view through a different part of the screen and see what you're aiming at.
congrats on your eotech purchase :D

-kirk

Bill2e
March 5, 2009, 08:52 PM
Thanks but thats the thing as I move my head the POI changes. I need to get a rest and play with it some more.

kirklandkie
March 5, 2009, 08:53 PM
i may be mistaken on this thought, but it would seem that maybe when you move your head you're inadvertently also moving the firearm?
just a thought
good luck

-kirk

Bill2e
March 5, 2009, 10:03 PM
I don't think so, I was using a bipod. Like I said first day with it. I need to play with it some more.

helz_mcfugly
March 5, 2009, 10:29 PM
mine (eotech 552d1) doesnt move. I can lock my AR in a benchrest shooting vice and move my head around even to where the red dop is at the top left or bottom right of the screen and it is still on the POI. not sure why yours is doing that, thats what the cheap ones do and thats my eotech cost half of what your firearm cost. you may have an issue that needs to be addressed by eotech or have someone who has one and knows it well enough to tell you its your site or you. good luck

Bill2e
March 6, 2009, 07:02 AM
I can lock my AR in a benchrest shooting vice and move my head around even to where the red dop is at the top left or bottom right of the screen and it is still on the POI. not sure why yours is doing that, thats what the cheap ones do and thats my eotech cost half of what your firearm cost.

I bought an Eotech not a cheao knok off.

Also I would imagine if your rifle is looked into the rest the POI would not change.

You said you can move your head around to where the dot is at the top, left or bottom of the screen.....

Well that's the question. I was under the impression that if you moved your head the dot would not move. You would still see it is the same place, since it is the POA & locked to the POI.

I did not realize that the Dot will shift at I move my head even though the gun is still pointed where its pointed.

Thanks for you help.

marcodo
March 6, 2009, 08:29 AM
The dot may shift on the glass as you move your head but it should always be over the point of impact on your rifle (once you have it sighted in). All within a reasonable degree of accurancy

If not there is something wrong

That make any sense?

Bill2e
March 6, 2009, 04:00 PM
Yeah, thanks. Bill

rcmodel
March 6, 2009, 04:18 PM
See this:

http://www.eotech-inc.com/features.php

rc

helz_mcfugly
March 6, 2009, 10:45 PM
Yo man :p i think you misinterpreted what i said, I wasnt saying yours was a cheap one, i meant that thats what the cheap ones do, the dot moves off the POI when you move your eye placement around on a cheap-O. I know yours is an eotech, I read the title and your opening statement, and your eotech should not be doing what you say its doing which is why I said you should have Eotech (the company who warranties it) :rolleyes: have a look at it if it is doing that. And locked in or not my point was that the dot in your eotech should stay OVER the POI no matter where your eye is or where the dot looks like it is on the screen. the dot will move all over the screen but if you pull the trigger the bullet is going to hit where the dot appears on the screen. If the dot did not move around the screen when you moved your head it would be doing exactly what the iron sites do. I have a crappy BSA i got at walmart for $20 that if you dont have your eye right in the center and the dot right in the center it will not be true. I didnt mean to through you off like that mate.After reading your opening statement again I think your problem lies in the way you sighted it in. it seems as if you used the front post rather then the target. I think you are expecting the dot to stay on the front post and it shouldnt, the dot should only be there when you have your eye placed where the iron sights are on the target (POI), then when you move your head the dot stays on target (POI) and the post appears to not be on target (POI) any longer. I would be more then happy to make a short instructional video. I bet you are not the only one who has this issue/question. Im going to make one now. ill post a link in a few mins mate. :D

Bill2e
March 6, 2009, 10:56 PM
Helz,

Thanks that clarrifies it a lot. I think I need to reset the thing to factory zero & give it another try at the range. What you said make a lot of sense. Thanks.

helz_mcfugly
March 6, 2009, 11:59 PM
well I just made a vid for ya. give me a minute to edit it and ill post it. its easier to show you. plus I like making these instructional vids to help people out. :)

Bill2e
March 7, 2009, 12:10 AM
You are awesome, I appriciate the help & I am sure other do too.

helz_mcfugly
March 7, 2009, 12:30 AM
hope this helps man. Im about to do a vid on how to do a quick and easy trigger job for stock Ar15 trigger that will make your trigger lighter, smoother, and crisper. Ive done it to three of them so far and the owners love it. all youll need is a dremil and a certin dremil bit thats like a scotch brite polish wheel.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=deAY6kNxwrQ

RevolvingCylinder
March 7, 2009, 12:35 AM
EOtechs do not change POI as your head moves. Do not zero it on the front sight post as it functions independently of it. Like what was said before, put it in a rest in a way you are not touching the rifle in any way with the reticule on a target. You will see as you move your head the reticule will move(along with everything else in relation) but it will stay on the original target the whole time. This is the greatest asset of quality holographic sights. Congrats on the EOtech, it's a great sight. I like mine.

Bill2e
March 7, 2009, 07:42 AM
Thanks again Helz. the video was great. Thanks!!!!

A/C Guy
March 7, 2009, 09:58 AM
Thanks but thats the thing as I move my head the POI changes. I need to get a rest and play with it some more.You HAVE to use a bench and sand bags to zero a scope.

If you enjoyed reading about "Eotech set up help" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!