Barrel length 20" compared to 24" & 26" in 30.06?

PDA

mickeydim468
March 6, 2009, 03:01 PM
I have no idea why the length of the barrel makes too much difference other than that it has a longer contact with the bullet to make it spin better and would make it fly straighter. I also know it has something to do with muzzle velocity because it allows the powder more time to ignite so more of it's energy will be used for bullet propulsion.

This is my laymans terms explaination. Can anyone explain it to me in technical terms and tell me the differences between the three lengths? Please give examples and numbers if you can. I am an engineer so numbers make sense to me. :D

Also, which barrel length would be the better choice for long range hunting for deer and Elk? I do not want to discuss caliber just barrel length.

Thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "Barrel length 20" compared to 24" & 26" in 30.06?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
USSR
March 6, 2009, 03:21 PM
mickeydim468,

One of my .30-06 rifles is a tactical rifle with a 26" Krieger barrel. For this particular rifle, I load 190 grain Sierra MatchKings with pretty much a case full of RL22 powder, and easily reach 2900fps for 1,000 yard shooting. From a 100 yard zero, I only need 30MOA to reach 1k. If I tried this load with a 20" barrelled .30-06:

a. I would not reach anywhere's near that velocity.
b. My trajectory would be more pronounced due to the lower velocity.
c. The wind drift of the bullet would be greater due to the lower velocity.
d. There would be a HUGE muzzle blast due to the remaining high pressure
at the end of the short barrel.

So, essentially, if you want to take advantage of the .30-06's large case capacity by using heavy bullets with slow burning powders for long range shooting, don't use a short barrel. Hope that helps.

Don

NCsmitty
March 6, 2009, 03:25 PM