Weapons & planes don't mix, so what could you use to take back a Hijacked flight?

PDA

AKElroy
March 6, 2009, 10:39 PM
I'm new to THR, so feel free to move on if this thread is overdone. I travel quite a bit. Prior to 9/11, I always carried a knife on the plane & really cannot stand to be weaponless when traveling. What legal, everyday items would you consider for defense on a plane? Are sharp, ruggedly made pens legal? Sharp plastic combs?

If you enjoyed reading about "Weapons & planes don't mix, so what could you use to take back a Hijacked flight?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
hobgob
March 6, 2009, 10:47 PM
Laptops could make good projectiles. seat cushions are removable, could be used as a shield to protect against sharp objects the assailants may be using to hijack. Could be used to shield your person while charging the assailant. IDK, just some ideas. Some people will no doubt find flaws.

Jdude
March 6, 2009, 11:05 PM
Lawdog has suggested in the past to use your belt with a combination lock on the buckle. Almost anything can be a weapon. On an aircraft, your best option is to get up at the same time a a dozen or forty other passengers and beat the hijacker to death with your bare hands.

Unless you are the hijacker. In that case, you better just sit down and shut up, because if I have to stop you I am bringing all of my buddies and an ass whoopin' with me. ;)

All jokes aside, your tools on an aircraft are limited. Your finest weapon - your mind - will always be with you. When in doubt just headbutt someone.

SDC
March 6, 2009, 11:12 PM
Canes or pens would probably be pretty useful, but if I had nothing else, I'd probably grab a fire extinguisher off the bulkhead and feed it to someone; not too many people can shake something like that off (the several-pound chunk of metal in the face, I mean).

nekwah
March 6, 2009, 11:18 PM