How can the best scopes cost more than the rifles they're put on?

PDA

mbpautz762
March 8, 2009, 12:57 AM
Ok, this I'm SURE this is a stupid question, but I have no experience with rifle scopes at all. I've been using iron sights my whole life, but lately I've wanted to start getting down into 200yd territory and above, but I can't see anything at that distance with irons.

I've heard people say "you get what you pay for with scopes", but what really makes a $1500 scope worth $1500?? It's obviously more than just magnification, but it seems to me that if a scope lets you see the target and the POI doesn't shift after shooting, it should be good enough. please don't think I'm bashing expensive scopes here - I know there's much more to it than I grasp, I just want to know what I'm missing. thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "How can the best scopes cost more than the rifles they're put on?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
husker
March 8, 2009, 01:06 AM
i HEAR ya buddy. till of late my eyes were all i needed but i have a bad floaty in my right eye and now i need optics on my yoty rifles. after looking at a scope i liked i asked how much. well after they put their defibrillator away and i got back to my feet they asked if i was ok. i said no i aint ok. that scope is twice what the rifle is worth. KILLER prices, i went with the Mall mart high point scope. PS i can tell ya what your not missin= an empty piggy bank

gga357
March 8, 2009, 01:36 AM
I have found the Bushnell Elite 3200 and 4200 to be very good at not too crazy prices. If you get a simple 3-9x40 for 199.00
http://www.swfa.com/pc-8362-184-bushnell-3-9x40-elite-3200-rifle-scope.aspx

Coal Dragger
March 8, 2009, 01:59 AM
Why do best quality scopes cost as much or more than a rifle?

Because many of them are much more precise instruments than the rifle itself is. Precision costs.

husker
March 8, 2009, 03:06 AM