Sig P220 ammo

PDA

papafloyd
March 15, 2009, 07:12 PM
I am new to this handgun and pretty much guns in general for the last several yrs. While I'm waiting for my gun I thought I would by some ammo, what are some good choices for the range and then a couple boxes for HD? Is the Fiochhi any good (sorry about the spelling)? I know my choices are pretty limited right now but would appreciate what some experienced owners like and recommend.

Thanks Ken

If you enjoyed reading about "Sig P220 ammo" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
franconialocal
March 15, 2009, 07:30 PM
I carry a P-220 for duty. Try Federal. I've put a TON downrange without a problem......but yes, there are several good choices out there.

The Lone Haranguer
March 15, 2009, 10:48 PM
Fiocchi (fee-OAK-ee) 230-gr. FMJ is good ammo for practice. It seems to be loaded a little "warmer" than most equivalent American-made. No experience with JHPs in this brand.

Big Daddy Grim
March 15, 2009, 11:00 PM
P220 is my duty weapon and it will shoot well with alot of ammo, in fact the only one we had a problem with was TAP ammo beyond that never had an issue.

christcorp
March 16, 2009, 01:53 AM
I've had my P220 german for more than 10 years now. Shot just about everything in the world through it. It will shoot darn near anything. For plinking and practice, I get whatever is cheap. I always try for FMJ because I prefer not as much lead in the barrel. For home and personal defense (I carry my P220); my number 1 choice are Remington Golden Sabers 230 grain BJHP. My 2nd choice is Federal Hydra-Shok 230 grain JHP.

tbtrout
March 16, 2009, 09:01 AM
Mine shoots anything and everything. or HD I like Speer Gold Dots. For cheaper ammo if you do not reload try Wolf or CCI Blazer. They work well for practice. Just keep your pistol clean and they will feed no problem.

Jim Watson
March 16, 2009, 09:03 AM