Need help with 148gr .38 Special wadcutters.

PDA

Demitrios
March 19, 2009, 03:28 AM
I'm shooting a Dan Wesson 15-2 with a 6 inch barrel. I primarily use it to hunt paper targets so I'm only firing .38 special for now. I bought about 1k of 148gr. wadcutters and I'd like to know what's a good load to use for 700x? I'm looking for the flattest trajectory I can find. In fact if anyone could tell me what would be the best bullets and amount of 700x to use that'd be great. I'm pretty new to reloading, to give you an example I bought a Lee Auto Primer thinking an RCBS shell holder would work :banghead:. I also wound up loading my 148gr wads with 2.9gr of 700x, I ended up with a nice coating of powder on my hands and gun after shooting 50 rounds. So before I go and do something stupid that will cost me a finger or worse I'd appreciate any and all advice I can get. And I primarily use 700x but I'm up for any information on other powders as well.

If you enjoyed reading about "Need help with 148gr .38 Special wadcutters." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ArchAngelCD
March 19, 2009, 03:33 AM
Sorry, I've never used 700X so I can't help you with that powder.

My favorite powder for .38 Special target loads is Winchester 231. It's a good clean accurate powder that is also low flash. If you can't find W231, Hodgdon HP-38 is the same exact powder.

I use a charge of 3.4gr W231 under a 148gr DEWC and 4.0gr W231 under a 158gr LSWC. I find those charges work best in my revolvers. I use CCI or Winchester Small Pistol Primers.

loadedround
March 19, 2009, 10:30 AM