MilSpec or Comm Tube on my AR?

PDA

HMMurdock
March 24, 2009, 07:48 AM
I am looking at getting a Magpul CTR stock (or the MOE, when I figure out what the difference is) and it says it is for MilSpec tubes, not Commerical. I have a Bushmaster AR I recently bought at a shop, new, with nothing changed on it. How do I know if I have a commerical or MilSpec tube?

If you enjoyed reading about "MilSpec or Comm Tube on my AR?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Gary G23
March 24, 2009, 01:23 PM
You can measure the diameter.
1.14" is milspec
1.17" is commercial

Every Bushy I have seen has been commercial.

tunnug
March 24, 2009, 01:49 PM
Easiest way to tell without measurement, take a look at the threads, if they stick out past the tube it's milspec, if they're even with the tube it's commercial.

bushmasterar15
March 24, 2009, 02:07 PM
Every bushy that I've had had a commercial tube on it.

SimpleIsGood229
March 24, 2009, 09:21 PM
Mil-spec tubes are generally 4- or 5-position, while commercial-spec are generally 6-position, if I'm not mistaken.

The CTR has a friction lock which removes any play between the stock and buffer tube, while the MOE does not. I highly recommend the CTR. I love mine.

March 24, 2009, 09:46 PM
Yep ... Bushmaster has the commercial tube.

Here's a link to Bushmaster's FAQ section and their answer to the question of which size tube they use.

http://www.bushmaster.com/faqs/afmmain.aspx?faqid=1317

:)

Zach S
March 24, 2009, 09:49 PM
BM uses commercial stocks. You can either find a commercial CTR, or swap the buffertube out for a mil-spec (I used a stag).

As stated above, the CTR has a friction lock that locks up solid, the MOE lacks that friction lock, it just looks like the CTR, and rattles like an M4.

For future reference:

Mil-spec: