? about AR rail


PDA






funny book flapjack
March 25, 2009, 02:01 AM
I have a pair of 16" M4 flat tops. One is a Stag, the other a CMMG.

Both are KISS-- other than slings & a bayo lug mount (for a light that I put on occasionally), no gear added on. Lately I'm kinda wanting to add a verticle foregrip to one, just to see if I like using it.

But-- I really don't wanna buy a full rail system, just to try out the feel of running a foregrip.

So-- I ordered a cheap CAA M4 handguard rail, like this (the PR-A version):

http://www.botachtactical.com/taclm.html

But it doesn't fit my Stag or CMMG. Figured it was just the cheap CAA that was out of spec (or should I have ordered the PR-B version?), so I looked around for a better one.

Found that Midwest Industries makes one:

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/?productnumber=744914

but one of the reviews posted at Midway says it has the same problem as my CAA-- the screw holes didn't line up with his stock handguard holes.

There's a ProMag version as well:

http://www.aimsurplus.com/acatalog/ProMag_AR15_type_Rifle_M4_Adapter_Rail.html

I know ya get what you pay for, but again, I was just hoping to use this method to try out the foregrip, & if I like it I may then spring for a quality rail system (or not).

Anyone know why the CAA doesn't line up, or why the MI or ProMag would/wouldn't?

Thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "? about AR rail" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
funny book flapjack
March 26, 2009, 02:45 PM
Bump.

Anyone know which one (if any) would fit a Stag & CMMG M4, without me having to drill out the handguard for it to line up?

Thanks!

DougW
March 26, 2009, 11:15 PM
My son used the CAA forearm on his M4 (FN) while in Iraq. Worked fine. Fit is tight anyway. I have a CAA on my 20" A2 (M&A) right now, works fine.

dscottw88
March 27, 2009, 12:26 AM
I've heard iffy things about trying to put foregrips on handgaurds. I remember reading that they break off somewhat easily. I mean you can try it, but I think it will just convince you to go with rails. Even if you dont freefloat the barrel, you can still go with rails. Happy Shooting.

funny book flapjack
March 27, 2009, 02:30 PM
Thanks fellas.

Yeah-- if I like using a foregrip, I'll definitely get a rail system. I just want to try it out with this cheap piece first, so that I haven't bought a full rail system for nothing if I don't care for the foregrip.

Guess I'll break out the Dremel & just make it fit.

If you enjoyed reading about "? about AR rail" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!