SKS or M1 Garand?

PDA

joejoeshooter
March 29, 2009, 04:26 PM
I am still learning - So I really don't know the answer.

SKS or M1 Garand?

Is there even a comparison here?

Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "SKS or M1 Garand?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
cbrgator
March 29, 2009, 04:27 PM
No comparison.

Mojo-jo-jo
March 29, 2009, 04:30 PM
The only similarities between the two are that they are both gas operated semi-automatic military rifles fed from an internal box magazine.

Otherwise, the comparison is about like comparing a Rolls Royce and a Kia-- They both get the job done, and both run on gas, but there is a night and day difference in the quality of the ride.

joejoeshooter
March 29, 2009, 04:32 PM
So - the Garand is the Rolls Royce here?

cbrgator
March 29, 2009, 04:32 PM
Share with us your intended use for the rifle and we can tell you which to get.

Yes, the Garand is the Rolls.

joejoeshooter
March 29, 2009, 04:37 PM
Kind of always wanted a Garand - mainly for historic reasons. Probably wouldn't shoot it much. Kind of the same for the SKS, but don't know anything about them.

I shoot a lot of pistols and AR...

cbrgator
March 29, 2009, 04:44 PM
Well M1's are true collectors items and pieces of history. They fire the 30-06. The SKS is more of a beater gun, built just good enough to get it's job done. Fires the shorter 7.62x39.

Float Pilot
March 29, 2009, 04:55 PM
The only similarities between the two are that they are both gas operated semi-automatic military rifles fed from an internal box magazine

The 7.62 x39 mm SKS is an 10 shot carbine which loads from a 10 or 20 round semi-fixed box magazine, or from detachable box magazines with some modification.
It is a rather simple and by old standards a crude weapon. Due to the caliber limitations and the basic sights, accuracy is non-remarkable past 100 meters and chest size by 300 meters.