Sort first, then clean, eh?

PDA

Futo Inu
October 10, 2003, 12:50 PM
I'm new to reloading, so I have a massive backlog of dirty brass. So I dumped all brass together, then started a-tumblin, but now it looks like one oughtta sort before tumbling, since every single .45 brass has a .223 brass lodged inside it now. Live and learn. :)

If you enjoyed reading about "Sort first, then clean, eh?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
C.R.Sam
October 10, 2003, 12:56 PM
Yup

And not long ago someone reported finding a .40 inside a .45...
In the progressive press.

Sam

Zak Smith
October 10, 2003, 01:30 PM
Yup,

And if you tumble a bunch of 9mm, 40, and 45 together, you'll get all three stacked together. Depending on your tumbling media, it may require pliers to get some of them apart.

-z

Neal Bloom
October 10, 2003, 11:01 PM
Absolutely amazing how strong the attraction is between .45 and 9mm in a tumbler. You would think they were meant for each other.

Welcome to reloading! Have fun.

clown714
October 11, 2003, 10:20 AM
hate to admit it.

been there done that:banghead:

live and learn;)

clown

Kamicosmos
October 12, 2003, 10:54 AM
Throwing in my 'Me Too'.

223 in 44 Mag. Required pliers to free, damaged several 223 cases.

Paul "Fitz" Jones
October 15, 2003, 09:58 AM
I have a three 15 pound barrel tumbler and 6 extra barrels. I sort brass by size and even so a pair of needle nose pliers or a large needle comes in handy to pry some apart

When sorting range brass it helps to take a handful and hold them so the sun shines in to find the berdan primed ones for the salvage yard.

Mal H
October 15, 2003, 12:17 PM
The yups have it.

I do tumble similar cases (cases that can't possibly get intimate with each other) when I don't have a full load of any one type. Gotta sort 'em anyway, and it's easier to sort clean ones.

Examples:
45 Colt & 45ACP - ok
9mm & 45 anything - not ok
9mm & .380 - ok