loadmaster set-up


PDA






joshlm
October 10, 2003, 02:07 PM
I would like information on exactly what I need to order with my loadmaster to switch from one cal. to another. I have purchased a loadmaster setup fpr 9mm because I do not have a set of 9mm dies. I also am wanting to use it to reload 45acp, and 38 special, and possibly some 357mag, to go along with the 9mm. I am aware that I will need seperate shell plates, and a extra turret for each additional caliber. I am not interested in the bullet feeder, but don't know if I need the case feeder or not. If so what additional pieces would I need to use a case feeder with my calibers. Do I have to purchase anything additional for the priming system? I am trying to order everything at one time to cut down on shipping costs. Any help will be appreciated.

If you enjoyed reading about "loadmaster set-up" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Black Snowman
October 10, 2003, 05:08 PM
The case feeder will come with the 9mm setup and all you can get the large case "pusher" for the taller cartridges. The only other thing you need is the Large size priming assembly.

And of course the dies, turrets, and baseplates you already mentioned.

While you're at it order some extra primer pushers. I went through those faster than any other part. Mostly my fault. They're only a $1 so stock up (3 or 4 should last you 15-20k rounds).

joshlm
October 10, 2003, 05:29 PM
thanks snowman. I am assuming you mean the large primer feeder.

Nero Steptoe
October 10, 2003, 09:20 PM
Plan on a couple of pounds of Valium and possibly several hours of psychotherapy! Good luck with that Loadmaster....you're going to need it! :)

Black Snowman
October 10, 2003, 11:53 PM
C'mon Nero, they're not that intimidating or that picky. Ya, I ruined a few rounds when I 1st got mine and that was painful coming from single stage work but I've loaded thousands of rounds on mine over the years and it's served me well.

Would I rather have a Dillion? Hell ya. For as much as I reload would it be worth the price differance? Hell no.

If you're a high volume shooter, ya, spend the money for a NICE press like a Dillon, Hornedy, or RCBS. But if you're just trying to shorten the time to crank out some good quality reloads the Loadmaster wins in the bang for the buck department.

As with anything, read the manual until you understand it before you start. It will make life much easier. And only run 1 case through at a time until you get all the dies and do-dads set properly. Doing those 2 things will save you a lot of trouble later.

And ya, the primer feeder. :)

joshlm
October 11, 2003, 11:14 PM
thanks snowman

bdhawk
October 17, 2003, 12:22 PM
i'm with nero. i wouldn't wish a loadmaster on my worst enemy. lots of cheap flimsy plastic parts. the priming system is a disaster waiting to happen. i have reloaded for 30+ years and i have had two primers detonate while reloading. both were on a loadmaster. wear a flakjacket and eye protection. also keep a first aid kit and fire extinguisher handy. i sent mine back to midway. i think they were used to it, they took it back, no questions asked.

JA
October 17, 2003, 02:54 PM
A large primer feeder,turrets, and # 2L,# 1S shellplates. Get a case collator as all you have to do is dump a handful of brass in and shake till all the cases fall into the tubes base down. This is the must have accessory for any Loadmaster or Pro 1000 as it makes filling the tubes a snap.
There is only one rule if you want the primer feeder to function 100% follow the lube instructions to the letter in the instruction manual. The powder measure is going to leak with ball powders at first till it seats so every 5 rounds loaded blow the grains off the shellplate with your breath away from the primer feeder.
If you decide to load rifle cartridges that are longer than 223/5.56x45mm replacing the bolt that attaches the case feeder tubes to the press with one 4" long will allow the case feeder to feed longer cases. It takes a little time tweaking the higth of the case feeder and the case slider but my press now feeds 30-06 cases. It is not 100% as 3-4 out of 100 will tip over when being pushed into the shellplate but you just set them back up. It and the addition of a RCBS case lube/depriming die in station # 1 has really speeded up my loading of 308,8mm,and 30-06 cartridges. The resizing die in station # 2 requires that the depriming stem be pulled up in the die enough so it doesn't deprime the case.
If you have any more questions or run into any problems that re-reading the manual doesn't allow you to fix feel free to email me at jfreeman246@comcast.net

dan_s
October 20, 2003, 12:26 PM
i sent mine back to midway. i think they were used to it, they took it back, no questions asked.

Same for me.. The loadmaster setup that finally worked for me was back in the box, and out the door back to Midway.. The powder and case feeding mechanisms once adjusted worked very well. But the priming system was a real nightmare...

Tommy Gunn
October 25, 2003, 06:39 PM
Uh-huh,

When all else fails, read the instructions.

Kamicosmos
October 28, 2003, 12:17 AM
I had my Loadmaster bolted to my bench for 6 months before setting it up. Sad part is, my friend (Blacksnowman) has one, and I've run it, so I had no excuse for being shy about it.

Finally set it up Sunday, and it runs fine. Granted, I don't fully trust it for two reasons:
The primer system 'looks' scary, but we know all about looks versus reality, don't we? *coughAWBancough*
The auto disk measure throws a bit inconsistant for my tastes (but did throw light, better than heavy). I could always work around that without impacting load times too much, but for range fodder plinking rounds, 'it's good enough'.

I don't even use the case loader thing...just load them manually. As I do that, I look at the primer loader to make sure it's got a primer loaded, and that the primer is right side up. Then, check the case in position 4 for powder, and set a bullet on it. I loaded 300 rounds with no errors in a relatively short period of time, around 90 minutes while doing other things.

Sure if you want or need to load a gazzilion rounds an hour without having to babysit the machine...you'll have to go Dillion, or the RCBS Pro2000. But, I figure for the occasional 'crank out 500 rounds over a couple hours on a budget' the Loadmaster is a good bet, just keep your eye on it.

Which you should be doing anyways, UberDillionRunsItselfPress or not.

JA
October 28, 2003, 01:45 AM
You are missing out not having a case collator and using the case feeder. Just dump in a hand full of brass and shake the tubes. They fall into the tubes and two hand fulls will fill the tubes up. It will really speed up your rounds per hour.
Lee makes a adjustable charge bar that is just the ticket for the disks throwing charges a little light. You can really fine tune it and using ball powders it is dead on every time.

joshlm
October 28, 2003, 07:15 PM
Thanks for all the help guys. I went ahead and ordered the loadmaster and it showed up on my door step today. The box looked like it was ran over by a truck and the plastic slider on the case feeder rod was broken. Called lee and they told me to send it to them and they would replace it. Which means i am srill not up and running yet but I think it was more the shipping companies fault than lees. thanks again for all the responses.

bfox
November 1, 2003, 10:58 PM
When you finally get it set up you will have to let us
know how you like it .

Bill

If you enjoyed reading about "loadmaster set-up" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!