Drawing attention for the sake of confrontation

PDA

desert gator
April 10, 2009, 12:12 AM
I am fairly new to guns and carrying them. I have met and read stories about people who end up in negative social situations for open carrying. Allot of these people I feel purposely open carry in hopes that it will start confrontation so they can rant and rave about it being there right. While I know that it is legal in allot of places, I feel like some people open carry for no other reason than to dare people to say something. I'm not saying it's right or wrong to open. Carry, I am not the least bit bothered by it. I am just sharing my perspective as a new gun enthusiest

If you enjoyed reading about "Drawing attention for the sake of confrontation" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Rockwell1
April 10, 2009, 12:17 AM
If you weren't bothered by it why post this rant?

I live in a city where O.C., while not prevelant , isn't uncommon & I've never known it to be an issue.

kingpin008
April 10, 2009, 12:22 AM
I'm not sure I see the point of this post either. If it bothers you, ignore them. If it doesn't bother you, great.

Whether people are out to start problems or not is not your concern - until they try to start problems with you.

If open carrying really tweaks someone enough that they confront the carrier, that's not the carrier's fault. Walking around with an inanimate object strapped to one's person is not a viable reason to confront them, especially violently.

desert gator
April 10, 2009, 12:23 AM
I'm not ranting about open carry. I'm just saying some people seem to do it to In hopes of getting a rise out of people who are offended by it

kingpin008
April 10, 2009, 12:29 AM
But as long as they (the OC'er) doesn't start any fights or confrontations, what does it matter what their intentions are?