What is the best gun maker? And what is the best gun?

PDA

timmerk
October 11, 2003, 09:08 PM
Hi,

I'm a newbie as you can see, but out of these makers:

Walther
Sig
Berrta
Heckler Koch
Colt
Luger
Ruger
Smith and Wesson

Who are the best makers out of that list? I'm I forgetting a maker? What are each maker's best guns? I'm looking into getting a .40 or .45. But then again, I'm a newbie who doesn't know anything. I don't want a revolver.

Thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "What is the best gun maker? And what is the best gun?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Jim K
October 11, 2003, 09:23 PM
If you are talking .40 or .45 auto, you need to add Kimber, Wilson, Springfield Armory, Inc., Auto Ordnance, Charles Daly, and a few others.

Only a few Luger .45's are made, by custom shops, and they are very expensive, so rule that one out. (Only one or two original Lugers in .45 are known to exist; price if sold would be in six figures.) Rugers are rugged and reliable but bulky. Of the ones you list, my preference would be Colt for the basic 1911 type, Glock or SIG for a plain carry pistol.

I will say that you will have to decide for yourself, and I think you need more experience before spending money. If 100 folks answer your question, you will get 200 opinions. There is no substitute for actually handling, and preferably firing, a number of pistols. You might be able to rent guns at a local range, or go to the range with a friend and try his guns. But in the end it is your money and your choice.

P.S. Don't rule out revolvers on the basis of something someone else said or wrote. Try those also.

Jim

ChuckB
October 11, 2003, 09:26 PM