Cast bullets In An M-1 Carbine?


PDA






Speedo66
April 13, 2009, 03:31 PM
Is there any problem with reloading cast bullets for use in an M-1 carbine?

Does it make any difference because of the gas operated system?

Thanks

If you enjoyed reading about "Cast bullets In An M-1 Carbine?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
loadedround
April 13, 2009, 04:06 PM
I have shot 115 gr hard cast bullets in my GI carbine without any serious leading problems. I did take my gas cylinder/piston apart( I do have the GI wrench) and cleaned the parts throughly. Also cleaned out the barrel bleed hole after each session. I must admit that these loads were just plinking loads, and loads I let the Jr CMP members use. My loads were worked up just to get 100% functioning with cast bullets. :)

jcwit
April 13, 2009, 05:46 PM
I've got way over 5,000 cast loads thru my carbine and have yet to clean the gas syste. Have cleaned the barrel and action a number of times of course. So far have had no problems at all.

My load is 100 gr. Lee bullet 90301, my own lube, 12 gr. 4227, good plinking load and inch and a half/two inch accuracy at 50 yds, not bad with open sights.

Hope this helps

Oh ya I size the the bullets .310.

USSR
April 13, 2009, 07:11 PM
I've been casting 100 grain flatbase bullets and shooting them in my carbine without problems.

Don

Speedo66
April 14, 2009, 09:46 AM
Thanks to all for the replies.

Speedo66
April 15, 2009, 09:42 PM
Xtremebullets.com makes a copper plated bullet for the Carbine.

I assume the loading data to use would be that for cast bullets?

Any thoughts on that?

jcwit
April 15, 2009, 11:12 PM
I'd use the loading data for cast bullets. The plating is very thin.

Speedo66
April 16, 2009, 11:08 AM
Will the plating stand up to Carbine velocity?

If you enjoyed reading about "Cast bullets In An M-1 Carbine?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!