Cleaning off polishing compound

PDA

2ac
April 14, 2009, 10:01 PM
Hello gents, have a quick question for you. I'm new to reloading and need some advice. Iv'e been polishing my .223 brass with Lyman's turbo. Is there a way to remove the polishing compound other than whipping each case by hand? Maybe I should try a different media? Thanx in advance for any info.

Zac

If you enjoyed reading about "Cleaning off polishing compound" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
jcwit
April 14, 2009, 10:23 PM
My suggestion is to use a corn cob fine media 20/40 grit, Will not clog primer pockets or flash holes. Available from Industrial supply outlets, ie Graingers. Cheap $25 for 40 lb bag.

Use one to one and a half cap fulls of Nu-Finish or other car polish to the c/c media. Most people use way to much polish.

Doing it this way after tumbling you're ready to go, nothing else needed.

ReloaderFred
April 14, 2009, 11:19 PM
I just tumble them in untreated corn cob for about half an hour after tumbling to polish. That removes the fine grit and prevents very fine scratching when sizing in carbide dies.

Hope this helps.

Fred

2ac
April 16, 2009, 12:50 AM
The car polish method seems to be pretty popular. With this method are the cases ready to go from the tumbler to the lube pad? I'm not trying to avoid inspecting my cases. I just don't want to wipe each case off by hand if I don't have to. Have a bunch of LC cases to process.

Zac

jcwit
April 16, 2009, 02:08 AM
With a small amount of car wax/polish they should be ready to go. Another advantage of the polish is it keeps the cases from tarnishing.

Most people use to much polish a capfull/teaspoon full per tumbler is plenty.

Hope this helps.

moooose102
April 16, 2009, 11:28 AM
you have to remove it? i have just been sizing / loading my brass right out of the tumbler.

jcwit
April 16, 2009, 11:33 AM
Plus 1 on that moooose102

2ac
April 17, 2009, 12:29 AM