Guess I'll start reloading 12ga

PDA

Sisco
October 12, 2003, 07:08 PM
Life was full of surprises today, Chiefs beat Green Bay :D and my wife told me someone had a reloader for sale - she usually keeps stuff like that a secret :rolleyes:
'Bout midway through the game she said "Do you have a 12ga shotgun?"
"Got four or five of 'em"
A friend had called her and said her neighbor was having a garage sale and had a 12ga reloader for sale. Game ended and I went over to see if he still had it, he did.
Bought a MEC 600JR; came with one charge bar & bushing, six bags of wads, half a bag of #8 shot, one box of primers for $25. Had to take the three drawer dresser it was attached to also.
I've been reloading for handgun and rifle for a few years now but never thought I shot enough shotgun to justify buying reloading equipment for it.
Haven't taken time to read through all the literature yet, any suggestions on what else I may need?
Noticed load data using Unique, that's great because I can use it for pistol too if it's a good choice for shot shells.

If you enjoyed reading about "Guess I'll start reloading 12ga" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Mike Irwin
October 12, 2003, 07:17 PM
Unique is an old standard for shotshells. In fact it may have started life primarily as a shotshell powder, but I'm not sure about that.

It's not the cleanest powder in the world, but that's not as much of a consideration in a shotgun unless you have one that has a particularly fiddly gas system, or it's hard to disassemble for cleaning.

I've used many, many pounds of Red Dot over the years for 12 gauge and have never had problems with it not being the cleanest powder on the face of the earth, either.

There are several good books on shotshell loading, including one I believe by Lee; one of them would be an excellent investment.

sm
October 12, 2003, 07:30 PM
$25 and you came home with all that?