Why the move from SA autos to DA

PDA

SHusky57
April 18, 2009, 08:01 PM
Why is it that the elite units seem to be switching from single action to double action?

I heard the British SAS has replaced most of their hi-powers with Sigs... and you just don't see many 1911s or Hi-powers anymore.

What caused the change?

If you enjoyed reading about "Why the move from SA autos to DA" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
desert gator
April 18, 2009, 08:16 PM
Well im new to guns and not as well taught as allot of other guys on here yet. To me though I think that a da is a form of safety having the longer trigger pull. You still can carry chambered and just pull the trigger to shoot, but I feel the long trigger pull reduces the chance of accidental shots. Just my opinion, I could be way off though

TMM
April 18, 2009, 08:28 PM
i agree with desert gator. simpler to use - unholster, pull trigger, bang. SA's might require training. i remember someone else here on THR said the same thing.

TMM

wyocarp
April 18, 2009, 08:34 PM
Yep, you have gotten your answer.

TestPilot
April 18, 2009, 09:19 PM
It's slightly more complicated then that.

Each unit has their own specific reason. While it is true that P228, P226 do not have manual firing inhibit levers to deal with, it also means the operators have to deal with the longer and heavier DA trigger pull for the first shot.