A Tale of Two Budget Rifles - Stevens 200 and Marlin XL7 (pic heavy)

PDA

Schleprok62
May 10, 2009, 05:11 PM
OK, I've read many a thread where the question is asked which is better... Now that I have some time on my hands, I will run down the my opinion of the real, practical differences. I am not an expert by any stretch of the imagination... I'll leave the hard core questions for those more qualified to answer.

http://www.photohost.org/gallery/data/500/2783MarvsSav1-med.jpg

I will not do a comparative range report because comapring a 7mm-08 to a 30-06 is like comparing apples to oranges... (in my opinion) I will say that both rifles are definitely in the 1 MOA playground out of the box... ok, on with the show...

I've read people say that the stock on the Marlin is better than the stock on the Stevens: Well, what do y'all think?? Stevens Left - Marlin Right

http://www.photohost.org/gallery/data/500/2783P5100002-med.JPG

Stevens: Notice the flash line...
http://www.photohost.org/gallery/data/500/2783P4280003-med.JPG

Marlin: Nice and smoothy...
http://www.photohost.org/gallery/data/500/2783P4280002-med.JPG

When comparing fit and finish, I'd definitely say the Marlin wins, but comparing how well built one or the other is, I'd have to lean toward the Stevens... The Stevens has a fitted block of styrofoam inside the buttstock whereas the Marlin uses a cheesy piece of folded packing material like sheet of expanded foam - :scrutiny:

Triggers: Well, this are is pretty much a no brainer... The Marlin definitely has the better trigger... Although, the Stevens can be, at little to no cost, adjusted to be a lot better than the factory setting. The Marlin uses a system very much like the Accutrigger of the Savages... Easily adjusts with common household tools.

Stevens:
http://www.photohost.org/gallery/data/500/2783P5100015-med.JPG

Marlin:
http://www.photohost.org/gallery/data/500/2783P5100014-med.JPG