words about a word

PDA

bobs1066
January 17, 2003, 11:13 PM
I read something in another thread that put me to thinking. Somebody used the term "nimrod" to describe a not overly-bright person. That's a common usage today & I've been hearing it used that way for the past 15 years or so.

IIRC, in the Bible, Nimrod was the son of Cush, who was the son of Noah. Nimrod was a renowned hunter & also king of Babylon.

Around the middle of the 20th Century, "Nimrod" was a somewhat flattering nickname for a sportsman. How did it become a synonym for doofus?

Not exactly an earth-shattering question, but words are how we define our world. What made the mighty hunter become a clown?

Bugs used to call Elmer a nimrod...:confused:

If you enjoyed reading about "words about a word" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
blades67
January 17, 2003, 11:22 PM
It was probably used in a sarcastic fashion on a few slow-witted folks at first, then became twisted into a derogatory term. Just a SWAG, but it sounds possible.

gryphon
January 17, 2003, 11:24 PM
Bugs probably called Elmer a nimrod like people call a big burly guy "tiny", like a guy who shoots an arrow, misses the target completely and you tell him, "good shot, Robin Hood", or "bullseye, William Tell.

G-Raptor
January 17, 2003, 11:38 PM
I can't quote Bible verse, but I recalled that Nimrod was the King who presided over the building of the Tower of Babel. That might explain it.

I did a quick search and found this:

http://www.ldolphin.org/babel.html

The Tower of Babel