Full Auto Ownership

PDA

MagnumDweeb
July 10, 2009, 10:41 PM
It's something that has been on my mind for some time now. I'm an NRA certified pistol instructor (I"ll go ahead and do the rifle one in December), worked for a gunsmith, do my own homebrews with a good deal of success. It looks like nowadays if you want an MG or FA you have to become and SOT3 looking to sell to law enforcement or military. There are plenty of Sig parts kits for rifles, and some Galil models, so it wouldn't be the greatest stretch when applying for an SOT3 to be interested in rebuilding the guns with the intent of marketing them to local law enforcement. A Sig 556 with FA option to the local police department perhaps.

But when I think about it all. It's just BS. I've looked at the 1934 and it wasn't entirely too bad per say. If you wanted an FA or MG you had to reigster it. Not ideal but not too bad. And from everything I've read we have the firearms industry to thank for the 1968 which banned or at the very least made foreign imports more difficult. And it looks like it later gave Clinton the ammo to start destroying Garands, 1911s, and .30 Carbines(oh yeah, every years hundreds of thousands of the guns are destroyed and salvaged for one-thousandths of their modern value) that many of us would gladly pay three or four hundred bucks for but for some reason the government just needs that two or three dollars for the steel. And then the hail mary late night bit added to the 1968 just made FA and MG ownership quite difficult and incredibly expensive.

I look at brpguns.com and wonder how they are still MGs, it looks like they just went and cranked out tons of receivers up to the last second. And if you read 'Shotgun News' you'll see the little brief case fully transferable MG so I do find myself at a loss.