Mounting a light on AR Q


PDA






SATX man
July 17, 2009, 12:53 AM
I wanted to see if this is possible I want to mount a light on a plastic handguard is this possible? If so what equipment will I need? I have Surefire lights but I wanted to put a pressure switch for light, what all will I need, a new tail cap and switch?

If you enjoyed reading about "Mounting a light on AR Q" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
MrCleanOK
July 17, 2009, 07:40 AM
You can buy picatinny rails that will mount to the vent holes in plastic handguards. Depending on what kind of light/mount you have, that will give you a few options. Use adhesive velcro to stick your tape switch on. You won't always want the light on the rifle, so taking the switch off is nice.

benEzra
July 17, 2009, 08:05 AM
A front sight rail is also a good option, and puts the light in an ideal position; it is probably also less fragile than one that bolts to the handguard.

http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/botach_2064_123709087
http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/botach_2062_133582049
http://www.botachtactical.com/caam4frsimod.html

If you have a standard size Surefire flashlight, you can use one of these to attach it to a rail:

http://www.gggaz.com/uploaded_images/One%20Inch%20Ring/OneInchRingCollage.jpg
http://www.gggaz.com/index.php?id=110

The tailcap/pressure switch can probably be ordered as an accessory from Surefire or a distributor.

ChristopherG
July 17, 2009, 08:09 AM
I've got the setup in beEzra's top pic, in post #3: TLR-1 on a front-sight mounted metal rail. It's sturdy and puts the light in great position for thumb operation (as in the pic). To me, a carbine forearm is so short I didn't want to give any of it up to put a light on.

dodge
July 17, 2009, 08:18 AM
You can buy short pieces of rail that bolt on to you standard forearms. This allows you to mount a light usually at the 6 o'clock postion. I have one that I got from Cabela's and have seen them online at other sites as well.

SATX man
July 17, 2009, 08:38 AM
Thanks for replys so far if I have a 6P led light http://www.surefire.com/6P-Led , all I will need is a switch will this one work?
http://www.surefire.com/Remote-Tailcap-Switch-Assembly-for-Scout-Light

minutemen1776
July 17, 2009, 09:56 AM
I also highly recommend a front sight tower Picatinny rail mount for a tactical light, especially if you're using an M4/CAR length handguard. I went with this setup after figuring out (through using/owning one) that I REALLY dislike railed forearms. I also disliked the idea of mounting a length of rail to my handguards, both because it would occupy space needed for my hand and it would put the light in a six o'clock position directly behind my sling. I bought a ProMag sight tower rail from Midway and have loved it. With a TLR-1 light, the mount puts the light's rocker switch right at my thumb. No reaching, no stretching, and no remote pressure switches required!

DMK
July 17, 2009, 10:43 AM
I use the style of rail that attaches directly to the handguard. There's an aluminum piece inside the handguard and keeps the screws from pulling through. I use a handgun type Streamlight with switches at the rear (just like in the middle pic that BenEzra posted). I can click the switch with my index finger while my hand is on the forearm. No wires or pressure switches necessary. Very easy, intuitive and convenient to use.

I also have the ring that allows me to mount a regular handheld Taclight on the rail (A Surefire G3 in my case). You need a new shock absorbing lamp assembly from Surefire or recoil will kill your bulb. I have found that the way I mount it, I can rotate the tail with my finger so a fancy tailcap isn't necessary. But I do prefer the handgun style light with better momentary switch capability. I use the G3 only as a cheap backup solution just in case my other one breaks. Plus it makes a handheld flashlight handy at the gun safe.

(keep in mind I only have Midlength carbines and 20" full length ARs. CAR/M4 style handguards might not have enough room for my solution. YMMV)

http://mysite.verizon.net/dmk0210/myarms/Midlengths.JPG

If you enjoyed reading about "Mounting a light on AR Q" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!