CMP waiting period for Illinois resident?

PDA

shotgunjoel
July 22, 2009, 01:43 PM
So in the next week I'm going to be heading south to the CMP South Store. Since I'm an Illinois resident do I have to still wait for 24 hours after purchase before I can pick up my rifle? I'm really hoping that I don't have to because I just don't want to waste the time hanging around. Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "CMP waiting period for Illinois resident?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Nowhere Man
July 22, 2009, 02:11 PM
It is my understanding that you have the choice of walking out the door with it or, having it shipped to your home. No FFL required.

If you take it with you, you'll need to pay 6.5% sales tax. If you have it shipped you'll pay shipping only, no sales tax.

Dave

Nowhere Man
July 22, 2009, 02:12 PM
Whatcha gonna buy?????:D

Dave

shotgunjoel
July 22, 2009, 03:12 PM
Nowhere Man, I understand that, but with federal gun laws don't you have to follow your home state's laws? Wouldn't that mean that I'd have to wait until the next day to pick up my rifle? I'm hoping for a M1 Carbine.

Nowhere Man
July 22, 2009, 03:39 PM
I'm pretty sure CMP is exempt. That's why they can ship it to your door and avoid FFL's. I'm also sure someone will chime in and confirm this.

Nice choice.

Dave

shotgunjoel
July 22, 2009, 04:03 PM
That's what I was wondering about because I knew that they were exempt from that I didn't know if they were also exempt from waiting periods. But seriously, if you still need a day to "cool off" after you went through all the work to qualify for a CMP rifle, it's really not going to matter. I would just call them and ask, but their site says not to call, just email and I'd like an answer before I leave for there at the end of the week.

shotgunjoel
July 22, 2009, 04:04 PM
Also, how are they exempt? Is it because they are government chartered?

GRIZ22