How accurate are these "battle rifles?''

PDA

sprice
July 27, 2009, 10:48 AM
How accurate is a springfield loaded m1a with stainless barrel?
How accurate is a DS arms standard fal?
How accurate is a ''match grade'' ar-15?

And the gun I will want in the end is the one that can kill the best and 800-1200 yards.

If you enjoyed reading about "How accurate are these "battle rifles?''" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
THE DARK KNIGHT
July 27, 2009, 11:15 AM
They are all more accurate than most of the people who shoot them.

a-sheepdog
July 27, 2009, 11:30 AM
My "Loaded" M1A is MOA with a scope on it. I am not that good with open sights. I had a DSA Fal, it was nice but I never scoped it and the trigger was not that wonderful. I shot about 3" groups at 100 yards with open sights and ball ammo. Probably could have shrunk the groups with the FAL with better ammo. The Match Grade AR should print 1/2 to 3/4 inch all day. My mil-spec AR prints MOA easily. This is limited experience, but hope it helps.

Limeyfellow
July 27, 2009, 11:40 AM
A standard battle rifle generally has to have the same accuracy as the military asks for with its AT15s. At least 4 MOA to pass. Most are half that. A Loaded M1A depends on where you got it from as there is no set defined standard. I would expect it to be less than 2MOA, and probably half it. A Match grade AR-15 better be in the 1 MOA or less standard for the money you spend on it.

Of course ammo choice makes as much difference as anything. It is rather amazing how some people think you can throw any cheap junk down a barrel and expect the same accuracy as hand loaded for the rifle match quality rounds.

MTMilitiaman
July 27, 2009, 01:16 PM
I have an M1A Loaded with a stainless barrel.