Choosing a carry gun

PDA

devildave31
July 27, 2009, 02:30 PM
This is probably a subject that gets brought up over and over, but I'm gonna ask anyways.

I keep reading posts which include something along the lines of " If your life is going to depend on it, then carry this, or don't carry that."

With that in mind, my question is what do you base your decision on, as far as trusting a particular weapon with your life. I have only owned a few models of handgun, but after putting a number of rounds through each one reliably, and becoming confident with the sights and workings of the gun, I have never had the feeling that I could not trust my gun if my life were on the line.

I have been in the military for 12 years and have fired many different weapons. I do not claim to be an expert by any means, but I'm no newbie either (except maybe compared to old timers who have been shooting 40-50 yrs). I'm just curious what the typical thought process is, when people say trust this or don't trust that.

If you enjoyed reading about "Choosing a carry gun" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
searcher451
July 27, 2009, 02:40 PM
The only guy who can figure out what gun is right for you and what gun to carry is you; everyone else's opinions, though offered in good spirit, no doubt, are merely that: opinions.