This sounds stupid I know but


PDA






lykoris
July 30, 2009, 08:18 AM
for the life of me I cannot change the turrets on two redding T7s I got - I wanted to set them up on my bench but obviously cannot drill for the bolts without removing the turret to have access.

I'm using a 5/16" allen key (right size) and obviously moving in a counterclockwise direction to loosen the bolt in the middle of the toolhead.

there are no instructions so I'm lost on a how-to ? I used quite a lot of force but afraid of going overboard.

how terribly embarrasing :o :o

it took some time to realise how you change out the large vs small primer pieces also. :o :o

If you enjoyed reading about "This sounds stupid I know but" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Jim Watson
July 30, 2009, 08:24 AM
I don't have one, but I am sure Redding will provide instructions if you just ask.

loadedround
July 30, 2009, 10:23 AM
Is there possibly a lock screw on the shaft to hold the main bolt in place?

lykoris
July 30, 2009, 10:30 AM
Thanks for the replies.

I wanted to call them but they only have an e-mail address so I sent them an e-mail...but like all companies it will probably be min. 24hours before they get back to me and as somebody here has the answer(as they have a T7) it would be faster. I'd really like to get them mounted and working this evening.

I thought about a set-screw also but I can't see where.

The bolt on the middle of the toolhead doesn't budge a milimeter and I'm 6'2"/as strong as the average guy.(in case some think I'm a matchstick without enough force to torque.

I've also considered Redding reinvented the wheel and ccw will tighten it/cw will loosen it :D Just kidding, I've only tried moving both bolts counter/anti clockwise to loosen them.

It is like they are welded in place and I'm reluctant to go crazy with torque as I'm obviously doing something wrong.

I feel like a complete idiot :o :o :o

lykoris
July 30, 2009, 10:54 AM
googled a phone number and got through to tech. support at Redding.

No set screw it was just I wasn't using enough force.

so I stuck a socket wrench of it and when it came loose it went 120 degrees and crushed my thumb :rolleyes:

Apologies for wasting this precious forum with my nonsense.

I'll go attack the other press and then stick my thumb in some ice :D

:o

Randy1911
July 30, 2009, 01:57 PM
I never hurts to ask. That is how we learn.

flashhole
July 30, 2009, 07:15 PM
If I understand what you are saying you can't mount the press because of the turret? Just mark a hole pattern on the bench, move the press, and drill the holes.

lykoris
July 30, 2009, 07:26 PM
I thought of it but wanted to sink them with a power drill rather than do it by hand for 8 of them, not really bolts as such but large screws with a phillips head...screwdriver wouldn't have been up to it by hand as didn't have access for the bottom holes.

it all got sorted out but when I was literally moving a bench with a 650+casefeeder, co-ax press and about 10kg of other equipment on it while trying to unscrew the turret ccw I thought I was doing sth. wrong.

when I use too much leverage, I strip threads

when I use too little leverage, I annoy you nice people with silly threads :scrutiny: :D

If you enjoyed reading about "This sounds stupid I know but" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!