Check this one out!! Colt Walker on Tradera.com


PDA
dlon21
August 3, 2009, 09:43 AM
Hey guys. Would like a lot of comments on this, take a look for yourself and decide if real or fake! If real it's very cheap in this condition..

// Daniel


http://www.tradera.com/COLT-REVOLVER-auktion_96401128#pic

If you enjoyed reading about "Check this one out!! Colt Walker on Tradera.com" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
madcratebuilder
August 3, 2009, 01:09 PM
It's a repro. I have seen that "D Company No 122" on other commemorative Walkers.
Isn't 35000kr about $4800 US dollars. One zero to many.

kwetu
August 3, 2009, 02:21 PM
I don't think genuine Walkers had Colts New York address because they were made by Whitney. Colt was bankrupt at the time.
kwetu

pohill
August 3, 2009, 03:55 PM
Colt went bankrupt ater making the Paterson. The Walker put him back in business (no government buyout needed). Colt contracted with Eli Whitney Jr to make them.

mykeal
August 3, 2009, 04:02 PM
Umm, yes, I believe they did have the New York address.

dlon21
August 3, 2009, 04:54 PM
I've had mail contact with the owner of the gun; who claims it to be an original. Also claims that Norm Flayderman looked at it 10-20 years ago and confirmed it to be an original although the cylinder has been replaced. Maybe I should ask to see that letter? This is sick.. I hope nobody buys this repro believing this guys lies. Since I'm assuming it's not an original? Wonder what the reserve price is at..

madcratebuilder
August 3, 2009, 06:20 PM
The Colt Walker has "ADDRESS. SAML COLT NEW-YORK CITY" On top the barrel above the barrel lug.

That "D Company No 122" is on a commemorative I have seen on Gunbroker.com. Possibly from American Historical.

That price is fishy, if a real Walker, in that condition, it's a 30K revolver, I would think even with the cylinder replaced.

send2r
August 4, 2009, 12:33 AM
how many dollars to the kroner and how hard will it be to get out of the country it is in and how much to get it in the us.

pohill
August 4, 2009, 12:38 AM
Remember the motorcycle scam on ebay not too long ago? The same motorcycle was sold several times from different countries, a motorcycle that did not exist. Why would anyone send, or consider sending, large sums of money to another country for anything? If it looks too good bla bla bla

4v50 Gary
August 4, 2009, 02:33 AM
I'll say it's a genuine replica that was made less than forty years ago.

arcticap
August 4, 2009, 03:38 AM
how many dollars to the kroner and how hard will it be to get out of the country it is in and how much to get it in the us.

The exchange rate for the Swedish Kroner is about 1 USD to 7 SEK.
35000 SEK is about $4929.80.

AFAIK importing C&B's into the U.S. is not restricted, but probably an import duty would need to be paid similar to an excise tax.

Wolfman
August 4, 2009, 01:15 PM
Why don't you call Mr Flayderman and ask him? If his good name is used to sell fakes he could be intressted to know...

Tallship
August 4, 2009, 01:51 PM
Obvious fake. Compare it to this real one:

http://www.bbhc.org/collections/BBHC/ImageViewer.cfm?object_key=48295&img=VW%2F1996%2E12%2E1%2EJPG

The US 1847 isn't even close.

If you enjoyed reading about "Check this one out!! Colt Walker on Tradera.com" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!