Nikon scope durability

PDA

Tim the student
August 28, 2009, 05:46 PM
Ok, so I think I found the scope I want to buy - a Nikon team Primos for $179.

Its so cheap because its refurbished. Because of that - it has a 90 day warranty, as opposed to the lifetime warranty that most (all?) of their other optics come with.

I have a Buckmaster that I like quite a bit, and I haven't had any problems with it. So, my questions to you guys (and ladies, if appropriate) are
a) if you have ever had a Nikon fail? If so, how did the repair process go - timely, did they live up to the warranty, if it was out of warranty, fair charges etc etc.
b) if you think this is a good buy? I do, but the warranty makes me just a bit leery.

I've bought other refurbished stuff, and it's all worked fine, so I would think this would as well, especially since its Nikon.

Lastly, the site I saw it on was http://www.samplelist.com/default.aspx?prod_type=1&hide_sold=False. Has anyone ever had a bad experience with them? I understand them to be a reputable company that is well respected. If you don't, I'd like to know why.

And definitely thanks to Freonr22, who posted that site on a different thread.

If you enjoyed reading about "Nikon scope durability" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
GodGuns&Guitars
August 28, 2009, 05:55 PM
I have a Nikon ProStaff on my 300 Weatherby mag and I have had 0 issues with it so far. Works fine so I can not discuss warranty info. I think it's been on the rifle over three years and stands up to the recoil of the 300. I know Nikon is probably not top of the line, but you have to understand one thing about them. They have been in the optics business a lot of years making camera lenses. Do I think their scopes are top of the line, nahhh, but they are fairly decent.

Runningman
August 28, 2009, 06:19 PM