M1 Carbine ammo

PDA

BNAllen
August 29, 2009, 02:31 PM
I've just acquired an M1 Carbine. While I have shot and reloaded for the past 35 years, I have no experience with the Carbine. I am fully aware of pressure issues in the Garand, however, I am not aware of any issues shooting factory loads through the Carbine. Once I have a supply of brass, I will reload for the Carbine. I am hoping to discover any issues I should be aware of using factory loads and to a lesser extent any specific issues when hand loading for the .30 M1?

Regards,

Brad

If you enjoyed reading about "M1 Carbine ammo" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
USSR
August 29, 2009, 03:36 PM
Brad,

No issues with factory .30 Carbine ammo (except for the price, Yikes), like there is for the Garand. Regarding reloading for the carbine, it's more like reloading for a handgun, since the cartridge headspaces on the mouth. I would suggest you buy carbide dies, although even with them you will have to use a little lube every other case or two, due to the case taper. A REAL handy die to have in addition to your FL die set is the Lyman Type M die for belling the case mouth. Suitable powders are 2400, W296, H110, and 4227. If you've got a .357 or .44 magnum, chances are you have some of these powders. A side benefit is, you can cast bullets and reload your carbine for .22 rimfire prices. Hope that helps.

Don

SaxonPig
August 29, 2009, 03:56 PM
I've been loading the 30C with standard RCBS dies and both FMJ and lead bullets for 5 years with no issues or problems. Stick to the loads listed in the manuals as with any reloading.

rondog
August 29, 2009, 04:08 PM
Sweet! I have a carbine on the way, shipped yesterday! I also have 1000 rds. on order with the CMP, but won't see that until Xmas. Have all the other reloading stuff, just need dies, brass and boolits.

GRIZ22
August 29, 2009, 05:11 PM