Gun Shots and Hearing Damage

PDA

JellyJar
September 12, 2009, 05:30 PM
On 08/29 I started a thread about Home defense and hearing damage. Hearing damage caused by gun shots is a pet peeve of mine. I have always been as careful as possible about sight and hearing protection since I started shooting guns. In fact I often wear foam plugs in addition to hearing muffs even when using my electronic Wolff Ears.

The worst incidence I have ever had involving gun shots hurting my ears was when I was attending a performance of Les Mes several years ago in NYC with my sister :eek: In one scene involving the Paris uprising of 1848 they fired several blanks in the rafters not too far from where I was sitting. My ears did not ring but it was painful. In hindsight I should have reported them to OSHA. I am sure the blanks they were using were way too loud and using them broke many federal and state work rules.

I am very surprised about the lackadaisical attitude that many have expressed in my previous thread about hearing damage. I know that there will not always be time to use hearing protection in an emergency but it can be done in many circumstances.

I am 54 now and still have very good hearing although I can no longer hear the buzz of mosquitoes any more. I understand that is normal for a man my age.

What I would like to hear now ( no pun intended ) are stories about people who have been shooting guns for many years how and what, if any, hearing problems they may have. I especially would like to hear from combat veterans from WWII until now of how, if at all, their combat experiences have hurt their hearing. I want this thread to help teach people how important it is to do what ever can be done to protect their hearing while enjoying all the shooting sports or using guns for protection.

P.S.