What's this?

PDA

deanpf
September 16, 2009, 12:23 PM
I picked this up in a thrift shop. I know it's for reloading and possibly a powder measure but I'm really not sure.
Yes, I'm new to this stuff.

If you enjoyed reading about "What's this?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ranger335v
September 16, 2009, 12:50 PM
It a powder measure, probably from a shotshell loader. That type used bushings with varying sized holes to dispense the charges by moving the sliding bar. Pacific went under a few dacades back, Hornady bought the residue equipment and started making loading tools under their own label at that time.

deanpf
September 16, 2009, 01:08 PM
Thanks! You confirmed what I had guessed.
The label does show "Pacific Tool Co. (Div. of Hornady)".

rcmodel
September 16, 2009, 01:09 PM
Due to the small hopper, I'm thinking it is a fixed capacity (bushing type) pistol measure.

Most shotgun measures that use a sliding bar and bushings have two hoppers, and measure both powder & shot with the same bar, depending on which way you slide the bar.

rc

loadedround
September 16, 2009, 01:36 PM
FYI, Hornady Mfg. Co. bought out Pacific quite a few years ago.

Steve C
September 16, 2009, 01:37 PM
The round knob on the side that's almost obscured makes it look like this current Little Dandy pistol powder measure by RCBS. I believe Pacific was the original manufacturer of this measure.

These measures use a fixed amount bushing that's available in various sizes to dispense various amounts of powder. The correct bushing for the charge desired is purchased and inserted in the measure and powder is dispensed when the rotor is turned.
http://media.midwayusa.com/HighRes/545386.jpg

Walkalong
September 16, 2009, 01:39 PM
It is an old pistol powder measure that uses interchangable brass bushings. I have a newer version (marked Hornady) I used to use years ago. They work well.

rcmodel