I got a problem


PDA






BUGUDY
September 28, 2009, 06:52 PM
Relaoding some 223. for an AR 15. Problem is the rounds will not cycle by hand, I have to bump the CH to eject a round. But, factory ammo will cycle fine. I have mixed brass, I checked the length, 1.754", I have reloaded at least 200 rds for this rifle and never had this problem before.
So, I have:
mixed brass trimmed to 1.754"
resized and primed
loaded with 69gr BTHP to 2.258"
will NOT cycle by hand, factory loads will.?

If you enjoyed reading about "I got a problem" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
rcmodel
September 28, 2009, 07:00 PM
One of two things.

1. Resizing die not screwed down far enough for press linkage to "bump" over so you are not pushing the shoulder back enough. Screw the die down until it contacts the shell holder, then give it another 1/8 - 1/4 turn until you can feel the press "bump" at full travel.

2. Crimping with the seating die and buckling the shoulders.

"Color" a few all over with a black Magic Marker and try to chamber them.
Where the black rubs off is your problem.

Also try chambering a few sized cases before you seat the bullets. That will rule out a lot of things concerning seating length & crimping problems.

You have to have empty sized cases that will chamber before loading them!

rc

steve4102
September 28, 2009, 07:05 PM
1. Resizing die not screwed down far enough for press linkage to "bump" over so you are not pushing the shoulder back enough.

2. Crimping with the seating die and buckling the shoulders.

BINGO!

Take some re-sized brass (No Bullet) and see if they chamber, if not your FL die need to be screwed in more.

If they do, seat some bullets. If they do not chamber, unscrew the seating die from the press one full turn and reset the seating stem.

Walkalong
September 28, 2009, 07:18 PM
Yep. rcmodel nailed it. :)

BUGUDY
September 28, 2009, 07:23 PM
Fixed. Thanks . I guess I should have reread the directions. Got mixed yp between carbide pistol dies and my steel rifle dies.

Deavis
September 29, 2009, 03:21 PM
If you are FL-sizing for an AR, I would suggest that you get a case gage. You would have found this issue by sampling your sized brass right after that die and see how your trimming has worked out. I know you can use your gun but you can sample many more rounds faster and easier than using your gun. Just a suggestion.

Walkalong
September 29, 2009, 04:29 PM
Agreed. I used to size .223 by just screwing the die all the way down, but I use a case gauge now. That way you know your good, plus you don't have to worry about sizing more than needed.

Historian
September 29, 2009, 05:32 PM
+1 for a case gauge. I load a lot of .223 and I use mine every time I start resizing the brass. The gauge will tell you right away if your cases are out of spec.

Historian

If you enjoyed reading about "I got a problem" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!