Rabbit hunting with a 12ga.

PDA

p5200
October 3, 2009, 01:44 PM
Probably a dumb question but, I'm new to hunting and fairly, new to shotguns. I've done a lot of rifle target shooting just for fun over the years but, I'm starting to get up in years with health going down and hunting is just something I've wanted to do for years and was wondering if the 12ga. would be too big for rabbit hunting I really like 12 gauges and wound up with two of them. Thanks for any help! :)

If you enjoyed reading about "Rabbit hunting with a 12ga." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Arkel23
October 3, 2009, 02:00 PM
No. 12 ga's are not too big for rabbit. Pray, and your health will get better.

wankerjake
October 3, 2009, 03:08 PM
Yeah 12ga kills rabbits dead. If you want to eat them I recommend shooting them in the head with a rifle, but if not then a 12ga is the way to go. I like a stiff load of #6 shot myself.

Dambugg
October 3, 2009, 03:35 PM
Like he said it depends on if your going to eat them. I grew up hunting rabbits with a .22 we ate them and sold their fur so a shotgun was too much for our purposes. I hope your health gets better.

Bud Tugly
October 3, 2009, 03:56 PM
A 12 would work if that's what you've got, but IMO I'd stick to no more than 1 oz loads and 7/8 might be even better. Rabbits are very easy to kill, and if you make a body shot with a 1 1/4 oz load at 15 yards there won't be much left over for eating.

Leaky Waders
October 3, 2009, 05:33 PM
Yeah, I'd go with a modified or improved cylinder with #4 or #6 shot.

Rabbits, if they aren't chased by a dog...will usually run like a 30 yard circle and then stop behind a clump of grass or something. You can wack them then or chase them with the gun as the sprint about.

They die easy and taste good. If you shoot them in the summer months they may have wolves in their skin...fly larva. Yeah gross right. Poor bunnies.

p5200