Chrony got shot!!!!


PDA






RVenick
October 3, 2009, 01:39 PM
I just got my Chrony Beta Master Thursday. Got out to the range with it today. Took me about 30 mins to get it setup correctly and started running some 357 Mag reloads thru it. All was well and I got good data. A Buddy of mine wanted to see what his Mini 14 would do and he ran a couple of rounds thru it got decent readings. Then he got his Browning Hi-Power out and tried that. Well thats when my nice shiny new Chrony got shot :(. He hit the right rear top rod, I was looking at the readout and didn't see where it went to access the damage. The lower rod is bent at the little brass coupler. It doesn't look like the photo cell unit is damaged. I shot a round thru it and it read but was way off (like 512 fps).My question to anyone that has shot one before is: If
the Chrony is still giving me a display and no errors does that mean that it is not screwed up? Also does anyone know where I can get a replacement rod? Any help wpuld be greatly appreciated. ;)

If you enjoyed reading about "Chrony got shot!!!!" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
MutinousDoug
October 3, 2009, 06:12 PM
Spare parts can be purchased from Chrony.
If it is displaying and the numbers change as you pass something over the skyscreens then I'd say the electronics are functioning. I suspect the screen nearest the damage is knocked out of alignment causing it to read fast if the screens are pointed toward each other or, if reading slow, the screens are pointed away from each other (so the bullet takes longer to pass over both screens). In other words: your screens are no longer calibrated.
I don't let people shoot over my Chrony without the understanding that they get to buy me a new one when they "shoot" it.

JimKirk
October 9, 2009, 10:49 PM
Pact Model 1XP or what ever they call it now. The Sensors are away from the brains of the unit. If you shoot a sensor it cost you about $30 to replace both if you're lucky enough to shoot both. The Chrony is only a bargin until.......

Jimmy K

tunnug
October 9, 2009, 11:05 PM
I was shooting my AR using my friends chrony with another more experienced friend advising me.
I take a shot with no reading, friend tells me you're shooting too high for it to register, shoot lower, so I shoot again with the same results, friend says, still too high, go lower, so I aim a little lower and let loose, we see the chrony buck back a little.
Holy cow, we run out and see this line plowed into the top right corner, I look at my friend with a look like "what the hell", he looks at me with a "hey, you're the one that shot it look".
By then the owner of the chrony comes by and sees that it's only cosmetic and says "hey, battle wounds", he knew I would've replaced it if it didn't work.
So what we do now is take a piece of 2" masking tape and put it across the front screen near the bottom, won't affect the reading and will let you know if you start getting close.
Oh Yeah, it wasn't reading because we had set it up too close.

45crittergitter
October 11, 2009, 02:26 PM
That's why I only considered chronographs whose brain stays with me instead of downrange. I hear that sooner or later, they all get shot.

Friendly, Don't Fire!
October 11, 2009, 03:22 PM
I just got my Chrony Beta Master Thursday. Got out to the range with it today. Took me about 30 mins to get it setup correctly and started running some 357 Mag reloads thru it. All was well and I got good data. A Buddy of mine wanted to see what his Mini 14 would do and he ran a couple of rounds thru it got decent readings. Then he got his Browning Hi-Power out and tried that. Well thats when my nice shiny new Chrony got shot :(. He hit the right rear top rod, I was looking at the readout and didn't see where it went to access the damage. The lower rod is bent at the little brass coupler. It doesn't look like the photo cell unit is damaged. I shot a round thru it and it read but was way off (like 512 fps).My question to anyone that has shot one before is: If
the Chrony is still giving me a display and no errors does that mean that it is not screwed up? Also does anyone know where I can get a replacement rod? Any help wpuld be greatly appreciated. ;)
If you look in your literature or on the Chrony web site, you can send your shot unit in and they will send you a refurbished one at a really low price.

If the main housing was damaged at all, that would change the distance between sensors and the whole thing would be out of calibration.

Friendly, Don't Fire!
October 11, 2009, 03:25 PM
I purchased some separate rods separately so I have spares. Fortunately, I have never had to use them. Some people replace them with wooden dowels the approximate same diameter.

I don't let other people shoot my Chrony.:cuss:
:banghead:

Geno
October 11, 2009, 03:43 PM
I know I shouldn't laugh, but I'm sitting here laughing so hard I can't hardly type. Friends don't let friends shoot their chronies. :D I never shot mine.

Geno

Friendly, Don't Fire!
October 11, 2009, 03:50 PM
Good one!:cool:

RVenick
October 11, 2009, 04:52 PM
I had it out on the range Friday it is reading but not sure if the numbers are right. At first it seemed OK but wasn't sure because I had never Chronied the loads I was shooting. I got my 17hmr out and was getting 2625fps with it should be about 2550fps. I then tried my 45acp and all I got was errors. I talked with the Chony Folks they said the hit probably loosened the sensor. I will send it back to them tomorrow to be repaired. They said $25 plus $9 return shipping. I made some wood dowels (16 of them) out of some 3/16" dowels that I had to sand down on the ends to 5/32".

Friendly, Don't Fire!
October 11, 2009, 04:54 PM
There you go, see, you will be all set.

I wouldn't let anyone shoot over my Chrony, but that is just me. I don't like new tools that are broken.;)

navaide
October 24, 2009, 10:43 PM
Anyone use the Competitive Edge Dynamics CED M2 Cronograph? All the electronics seem to be on the bench and not down range. Replacement skyscreens are $21.95. The question is, do I want to spend $199.00 for it?

Anyone out there think it's worth the extra money?

navaide

arizona98tj
October 26, 2009, 12:07 AM
When I decided to purchase a chronograph, I opted for one of the better PACT models that doubles as a range timer. I use one or the other function on virtually every trip to the range. I also appreciate the head unit/timer sitting on the bench and not 10' out from the muzzle. I do not regret for a minute the $$ I spent on mine.

jbkebert
October 26, 2009, 12:15 AM
Don't feel to bad. I shot a arrow right smack in the middle of brain box of mine. Ya know they just don't bounce back from that.

If you enjoyed reading about "Chrony got shot!!!!" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!