.243 lowest cost, best all around round?

PDA

andrewshogun
October 10, 2009, 09:44 PM
I'm new to the hunting world, and deciding on a good versatile rifle. .243 seems to fit the bill, as it can knock down varmints without destroying to a bloody mess, and also powerful enough to hunt deer with at a later time. I will primariy be hunting varmints with the rifle to begin with, but could venture into pig/boar later as well. Cost of the ammo is a big concern for me. Any other alternatives to .243 I should consider for the stated purpose? Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about ".243 lowest cost, best all around round?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
solvability
October 10, 2009, 09:46 PM
The only hesitation I have on 243 is the short barrel life - I like to practice and a 243 barrel may not last even a thousand rounds. Consider a 260 rem. and everyone should have a 223.

bchris2146
October 10, 2009, 10:17 PM
From personal experience I can say that my .243 is the most reliable deer rifle I've ever owned. I got it when I was a young boy, killed many whitetail with it. I still use today as a back up gun (only because its a youth model). A well placed clear shot (no brush) and deer wont go far, I guarantee it!

viking499
October 10, 2009, 10:42 PM
My wife and son both hunt with a 243. My daughter will use a 243 next year. I used one for many years before switching to a 7 mag for a few years. My deer gun now and for the long term is a 6.5x55. A 243 and a 100 grain bullet will work fine on deer with good placement.

jbkebert
October 10, 2009, 10:46 PM