Big Trouble... DPMS LR-308 Jammed .. Stuck .. HELP

PDA

Evergreen
October 11, 2009, 11:01 PM
I was at the range today and I am relatively new with shooting AR guns. I am out in the desert right now in Central Oregon. Yesterday , I was at the range and I and another more person experienced shooter examined the bolt and he said it looked like it had too much lube. Today, I was out shooting and I noticed my LR-308 had some issues and was not feeding right. I was using the NATO Portuguese .308 mil-surplus ammo in brass case. It , supposedly is some of the best mil-surplus you can buy. Well, it seemed that after I shot 10 rounds that day, around the 11th or so, it was starting to have feeding problems. I had to force out the rounds by pulling the charging handle with some force and after examining the rounds, it appeared they were chewed up and you could see some of the metal shaving from the brass case or the bullet, itself.

Well, after a few times of this, I was shooting again and shot another few rounds with no problem. By the fourth shot or so I pulled the trigger and nothign happened. I tried extracting the round, but the charging handle was jammed. I removed the upper and tried forcing out the bolt, but to no avail.
I had another person who was more experienced than I try to look at it and he said he would rather not try to force it with a crowbar because it may damage it. He said to bring it to a gunsmith.

I am going nuts right now and filled with grief. I invested over $3500 into this gun, including the gun, mount, scope. This was my prized long range shooting rifle. I feel a lot of hurt that this happened. The one thing the guy told me was the bolt was very dry and that he suspected it may have something to do with it, but was not sure. I have a hard time believing a dry bolt could cause such a jam after just 15 rounds.