What Are Your Thoughts On Safety-less Guns?

PDA

Phriend
October 20, 2009, 02:24 PM
I've been looking for a subcompact pistol, and to my surprise, many of them do not seem to have an external safety on them. (Specifically, I've been looking at the Kahr PM-9).

What are your thoughts on these kinds of firearms? While I am new to the world of firearms, it seems that all the training in the world could not prevent me from accidentally striking the trigger one day. Your thoughts?

If you enjoyed reading about "What Are Your Thoughts On Safety-less Guns?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
eight433
October 20, 2009, 02:34 PM
on my kel tec pf9, i can assure you, you will have to do MUCH more than "strike" the trigger. Especially if you have it in a holster with a trigger guard cover. I cannot speak for the Kahr.

kludge
October 20, 2009, 02:40 PM
I would not carry a gun with a safety. Personal preference.

This has been the norm for carry guns designed in the last, oh, twenty years.

it seems that all the training in the world could not prevent me from accidentally striking the trigger one day.

You are correct. You have to keep your finger off the trigger all by yourself.

It is very natural to pick up a gun and put your finger off the trigger. You must form a habit, so that you never pick up a gun with your finger on the trigger.

Always keep your finger off the trigger and out of the trigger guard until your sights are on the target and you have made the decision to fire.

CWL
October 20, 2009, 02:41 PM
Kahrs have very long DA trigger pulls. If you combine your pistol with a well-designed holster that covers the trigger, you shouldn't have any problems with safely carrying a pistol.

One-Time
October 20, 2009, 02:42 PM
Though I carry a 1911 w/ its plethora of safety features, I carried a .357 for years w/ no safety and never had issue

As long as the 4 rules are followed its a non issue