Digital Scale Question


PDA






delta5
November 2, 2009, 02:28 PM
Hi,

I have a Lyman LE-300 digital scale. I have an accuracy question. When I put the included test weight on the scale, its reading 20.08 and its marked as 20 grains I think. Is that acceptable accuracy? I am not sure how accurate the test weight actually weighs.

If you enjoyed reading about "Digital Scale Question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
NCsmitty
November 2, 2009, 02:38 PM
I don't have one of those, but there must be a way to zero the scale to that weight.



NCsmitty

snuffy
November 2, 2009, 02:41 PM
Is it a test weight or a calibration weight? There's a difference. 20.08? Didn't you mean 20.8?

Get these to ascertain if your scale is accurate;

http://www.midwayusa.com/mediasvr.dll/image?saleitemid=612694

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/?productnumber=612694

delta5
November 2, 2009, 02:50 PM
The weight looks just like the large weight in that pic. It is showing as 20.08 on the scale. The scale has a zero button, but I dont see any place to actually change the reading to calibrate. Is .08 of a grain a big deal?

helg
November 2, 2009, 03:22 PM
Most digital scales have a calibration procedure, which should be described in a manual for the scale. Sequence of actions is not always clear without the instructions. Check what your manual says.

RandyP
November 2, 2009, 04:54 PM
For example, this is Lyman's instruction for their XP scale calibration:



Calibration
1. It is recommended that the scale be calibrated before each use,
or if the scale is moved or jarred in any way.
2. Turn on the scale by pressing the ON/OFF button.
3. Press the ZERO button to reset the scale to zero.
4. Press and hold down the CAL button until the display shows
“Cal 20” then release it.
5. Place the supplied 20-gram calibration weight on the platform
and press the CAL button again. (Press and release, do not hold
it down.)
6. The scale will now show 0.0 on the display. Remove the 20-gram
weight. The display will now show approximately –308.6.
7. Press the ZERO button one more time to reset zero.
Scale Use
1. Place the empty powder pan on the platform and press the ZERO

kludge
November 2, 2009, 11:56 PM
To properly calibrate a scale the weight must be more accurate then the scale. The cheap weights that come with scales are technically not accurate enought to "calibrate" them.

If you take care of them, though, they will help ensure that you are at least "consistent".

Which is "good enough" for what we're doing.

rcmodel
November 3, 2009, 01:47 PM
It matters not that the scale calibration weight is accurate to a knats azz if you don't know you have to calibrate the scale to zero with it!

That right there seems to be the OP's problem!

rc

delta5
November 3, 2009, 02:26 PM
Yes, I dont have the manual for the scale. I think that other guy is right, there must be a series of keystrokes to tell the scale that a 20 grain weight is on the plate and to adjust. I just havnt figured it out yet.

1858
November 3, 2009, 02:41 PM
Yes, I dont have the manual for the scale. I think that other guy is right, there must be a series of keystrokes to tell the scale that a 20 grain weight is on the plate and to adjust. I just havnt figured it out yet.

Did you read RandyP's post above :confused:. It's highly likely that your scale uses the same (or very similar) procedure.

Both of my RCBS digital scales have a calibration key (CAL) which starts the process. The CM1500 tells you what weight to put on the platen ... it couldn't be any easier. It uses a standard three-point calibration at 0 grams, 50 grams (770.9 grains) and 100 grams (1541.9 grains).

:)

RandyP
November 3, 2009, 02:58 PM
And I guess if all else fails you 'could' try asking the folks what made it?

http://www.lymanproducts.com/lyman/contact/

hpluseleven
November 3, 2009, 03:25 PM
Is that a 20 grain weight or a 20 gram weight? BIG difference. I only ask because mine has a 20 GRAM weight which is 308.6 grains or something like that. And it has a gram mode and a grain mode.

Just for reference, this is the way mine works.
Calibrate it, remove the weight, shows -308.6, place the pan on the scale, push zero, ready to go.

Other posters are right - go find that manual!

delta5
November 3, 2009, 05:02 PM
All my scale has is an off button, on button, zero button, and mode button to change from grams to grains. No cal button. Yes, its a 20 gram weight. Thanks for posting the link to Lyman, I had not had much luck locating that.

Otto
November 3, 2009, 11:29 PM
Lyman discontinued the LE 300 so they no longer provide instructions on their website.
However, a user has posted the calibration sequence on Shooters forum which may be of help. http://forum.exbabylon.net/showthread.htm?t=54527

delta5
November 4, 2009, 12:30 AM
Thanks!!

delta5
November 5, 2009, 01:02 AM
IF YOUR SCALE READS "EE" OR "-EE"
Sometimes an electronic scale can be shifted out of its working range, possibly
by a jolt in shipping or transportation. When this occurs, your scale tells you
by displaying" EE" or "-EE". This can be corrected:
2. Press "OFF" and "ZERO" simultaneously. The display wiII show "In",
meaning input. You wiII be able to input the information needed to get
the scale back to its normal function.
3. Press "OFF" and "ZERO" simultaneously a second time; a number wiII
appear that wiII count down and eventually stop.
4. Press "ZERO" and the scale will display zero.
5. Place the calibration weight onto the scale and press "OFF" and "MODE"
simultaneously until "CAb" appears on the display. A number wiII then
appear, but not the actual weight of the calibration weight
6. Remove the calibration weight from the scale and turn off the scale to get
out of the input function. 'The scale now can be turned back on and should
be calibrated normally. At this point, you should be back in business.


Ok, I tried this and it seems to work like it says, except that now the decimal point falls in the wrong place. Now my 20 gram weight weighs 200 grams. And a 147 grain bullet shows as 1470.0. Looks like a phone call is in order now lol

jfh
November 5, 2009, 06:38 AM
delta5: Fixing the decimal point should not be a big issue if you can't get information in that phone call. Reading your series of instructions, plus your comments about which buttons are on the machine, suggests that pushing that getting to "in" may allow you to input a number including a decimal point. Or, an additional push of Off and Zero will yield another input to select the decimal location--

It sounds a lot like the input to set my clock radio time, date, etc., to be honest. Think about it in those terms, and look for additional cues.

Jim H.

RandyP
November 5, 2009, 11:03 AM
Since they maintain an 800 number for customer service, going to the source would be my first choice for this type of specific info.

I would be quite surprised if any manufacturer was unable to e-mail you a set of instructions for their product?

delta5
November 5, 2009, 03:03 PM
I just talked to Lyman customer service and they are sending me a copy of the manual and a new catalog. It was very refreshing to speak to a live, english-speaking, american human being for a change! LOL :D

delta5
November 10, 2009, 01:47 AM
I received my owners manual from Lyman today. I tried the two different keystroke sequences to re-calibrate my scale. The scale is calibrated correctly and reporting the right numbers with the calibration weight. The decimal point is still wrong though. Its reporting my 20 gram weight as 200.00 instead of 20 grams. Grains setting is wrong too. I cant seem to change the decimal point so far. I guess I will have to try to talk to one of their techs.

If you enjoyed reading about "Digital Scale Question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!