Reloading Newbie

PDA

THE DARK KNIGHT
November 5, 2009, 12:09 PM
Hello, I am completely new to reloading I have no equipment at all. I am curious about being able to reload .38 special, and perhaps even .45 acp. Here are my questions:

What tools do I need to start reloading? I currently have none

How much of an investment am I looking at?

If you enjoyed reading about "Reloading Newbie" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
RandyP
November 5, 2009, 12:11 PM
Have you already read the various stickys right above your post for new reloaders?

Worth a look-see IMHO.

dmazur
November 6, 2009, 09:00 AM
There's far more complete info in the "stickies" -

Other than components (which are a little hard to find at present), tools include

Something to deprime the case. This can be a mallet-operated device, or be incorporated in a resizing die.
Something to reprime the case. This can be a hand-operated tool, or be part of a more elaborate press.
Something to measure powder. Can be as simple as a scale with a powder pan, or a "dipper", or as elaborate as an electronic powder dispenser, or a powder measure mounted to a press.
Something to resize pistol brass. This can be mallet-operated or look like pliers, or be a bench mounted press. Presses that perform multiple operations at one handle pull are called "progressives" and those that do one operation at a time are called "single stage".
Something to "bell" the mouth of the case to permit bullet insertion without shaving the bullet or crumpling the case.
Something to seat bullets to the correct depth. Again, this can be mallet-operated or a more elaborate press.
Something to crimp the case. Taper crimps for auto pistols, roll crimps for revolvers.
And finally, measuring tools (calipers and gauges) to make sure you are making rounds that are within specifications.