Need a little help with dillon #deal


PDA






Shooter74
December 10, 2009, 06:20 PM
Im new on reloading, just bought a dillon square deal.
When I do everything in the right order, everything works fine,
but when I get out of sync, i donīt know what to do..

Today I loaded the primers first, then I relized I had to increase the gunpowder.
I made the adjustment,
then put a case in first posision, cycled it to second and then third, poored the powder back and wanted to do that a few more times before starting to weigh the powder. BUT, now I have a primer sticking up of the hole i pos 2, where I have no case.

What do I do now? Do I have to pick that primer up and throw it away?
If I put a new case in pos 1, will I get a Jam or explosion because I get 2 primers at the same time, or what happens?

Well you get the picture, how can I continue testing my loads with primers in the machine?

Is there a way to just halt the primers for a while?

Please share your Out-of-sync with #deal tips & tricks!

If you enjoyed reading about "Need a little help with dillon #deal" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
EddieNFL
December 10, 2009, 06:32 PM
Been twenty years since I handled a square deal. You should be able to pick up the primer and return it to the tube. Not sure about the SD, but the 650 simply dumps the unused primer into a retainer.

If you don't have a manual, they're online at http://www.dillonprecision.com/#/manuals.html

One trick I've learned is if you're interrupted, always stop with the ram at the top. When the wife makes you take out the trash, you know right where you are when you get back.

redneck2
December 10, 2009, 07:13 PM
If it works like my 550, just run one case at a time thru. If there's a primer in the slide, it won't take another. If you don't have a case in the 2nd slot, the powder won't drop unless there's a case to move the powder funnel.

loadedround
December 10, 2009, 08:47 PM
Recneck2 is right on.

Maj Dad
December 10, 2009, 10:27 PM
I have called Dillon over the years when I had problems (almost invariably as a result of my inexperience or inattention) and they patiently walked through it with me. On the rare occasion when it might have been a part, a replacement was in the mail the same or next day and I had it in 3-4 days. If you don't feel up to speed with it, give them a call & you'll experience why so many of us deal with Dillon: 1-800-762-3845
Good luck, and just my 2 cents,
Maj Dad

dmazur
December 10, 2009, 11:29 PM
The Square Deal is a little like the 550B, except it has automatic indexing and it seats primers at Station 2 instead of Station 1.

The locator buttons can be removed to make some operations a little easier, such as adjusting the powder measure, instead of "cycling" the brass through the press from Station 1.

For powder measure adjustment, you should be able to remove the buttons in front of Station 2 and 3. Insert a "test case" that has a spent primer in it at Station 2, pull press handle to charge and cycle case to Station 3. Remove case and weigh charge. Repeat until you're happy. (Don't press handle forward to seat primer as there is already a spent primer in the test case...)

You can do the same thing with empty brass (no powder) at Station 3 to trial seat bullet depth until you like it, removing the nonfunctional round at Station 4. (This wastes one case and bullet, unless you recover the bullet with a bullet puller. But only one, if you start long and gradually adjust shorter.)

And, of course, you can do the same thing at Station 4 to trial adjust bullet crimp/bell removal. Nonfunctional round falls in bin when press cycles.

As to your question about starting over with primed, resized cases, I don't know why you can't insert them at station 2 (locator button removed) and operate press to charge, seat bullets and crimp. The press won't insert primers if you don't push forward.

The normal way to operate a progressive press, of course, is to set up each station before starting progressive operations. That way, you aren't tempted to mess with the operation and get out of sequence. :)

Shooter74
December 11, 2009, 03:22 AM
Thank you redneck, that is what I needed to know..
And dmazur is of course right, next time I will set it all up before loading primers...
Thanks y'all!

If you enjoyed reading about "Need a little help with dillon #deal" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!