Flak Jackets - Can they stop a bullet?

PDA

NoAlibi
December 14, 2009, 02:54 AM
A neighbor came home from a gun show with a never issued surplus flak jacket that cost him $60. It looked brand new and weighed significantly more than a level 2 bullet resistant vest.

I have no experience with flak jackets and I don't know what they're made of or if they can stop any handgun rounds. If they can, then at that price it might be nice to have in case something goes bump in the night in your home.

Can anyone shine a light on this?

If you enjoyed reading about "Flak Jackets - Can they stop a bullet?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Broken11b
December 14, 2009, 03:02 AM
short answer, no.
longer answer, what kind of flak jacket, there are many, and probably still no.

Wheelgunner56
December 14, 2009, 03:04 AM
If it says "Flak Jacket", which I assume it does and it is at the price paid, it is not designed to stop bullets. You need "Body Armour" made to NIJ standards to stop bullets. Might look cool on some display near your home bar or in a "man cave", but don't trust it to stop bullets or blades.

Sean T
December 14, 2009, 03:05 AM
They were designed to stop "low-velocity" shrapnel, not bullets of any kind. Handy if someone is throwing grenades at you. IMO, if you want body armor, buy something designed to stop bullets. You can buy surplus Kevlar vests for pretty cheap, ~$2-300 depending on condition.

hub
December 14, 2009, 03:24 AM
Yes/No, the older type flak jackets are designed to stop shrapnel or flak not bullets. They may be able to stop small caliber pistol or shotgun hits. That is MAY but I wouldn't trust my life to it.

The newer issue interceptor vest can hold a trauma plates to protect vital organs from small arms rifle fire.

They are both made of multiple layers of kevlar.

carsten1911
December 14, 2009, 08:29 AM
Hi,