Any issues that I would have with a right handed AR-15 being left handed?

PDA

Skillet
January 1, 2010, 04:32 PM
is there any issues that i would have with an AR-15 set up to be right handed with me being left handed?

since I am new to ar-15's I dont know if the charging handle or anything like that would be a problem for me.

thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "Any issues that I would have with a right handed AR-15 being left handed?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
mljdeckard
January 1, 2010, 04:38 PM
The charging handle would not really be a problem, the latch will take some getting used to, but it's doable. Lemme search for a lefty charging handle. I just glanced at these results, I saw some ambidextrous ones.

http://www.google.com/search?q=left+handed+charging+handle&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

You want a AR with a 'bump' on the upper. This is the shell deflector, the bump behind the ejection port that the military adopted so that they wouldn't have to issue lefty rifles to prevent lefties from getting their noses burned by flying brass.

Stag makes lefty ARs. What I would do is get to a range and try a regular AR with the bump, you will probably find there's no real difference to you.

Skillet
January 1, 2010, 04:43 PM
what AR would have a "bump" on it?

Skillet
January 1, 2010, 04:48 PM
Found one. its DPMS, and in my price range. what do you think?

http://www.impactguns.com/store/DPMS-RFA2AP4AAP4-UG71.html

RockyMtnTactical
January 1, 2010, 04:52 PM
Most AR15's have brass deflectors. I know a lot of lefties who shoot AR15's without problems.

Juice Boxes
January 1, 2010, 04:57 PM
safety and mag release could be not as ergonomic and user friendly as they should be but,

Safety: http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=5591/Product/AR_15_AMBI_SAFETY_SELECTOR