non-standard scope rail


PDA






arizona98tj
January 4, 2010, 11:49 PM
I have an Eagle Arms EA-15 (AR-15 platform) with a rail on top of the receiver. It is pre-ban vintage with a high 4 digit serial number. I purchased it used and it came with a so-so scope with cheap rings attached to an ARMS-5 riser.

I picked up a Millet DMS-1 scope along with rings last week. Using the riser, I got the desired cheek weld I wanted but couldn't position the scope forward enough to get the eye relief I wanted.

Fast forward to today......the Burris extended scope mount I ordered arrived. I removed the existing scope and riser. As I went to install the Burris mount, I discovered that the rail on the receiver doesn't conform to the Picatinny 1913 rail specs. :banghead: Needless to say, the Burris mount doesn't align with the slots in the rail.

Even the ARMS-5 riser doesn't have a 1913 spec rail on it. And even if I can put the Burris mount on the riser, I don't want to as the Burris mount is the proper height by itself.

So.....looking to those who may have ran into a non-standard rail issue on another rifle.....what did you do to resolve it? Suggestions welcome. TIA :)

If you enjoyed reading about "non-standard scope rail" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Bobarino
January 5, 2010, 03:30 AM
you can try a Weaver compatible mounting system instead of Picatinny. if that doesn't work, sounds like it had some QC issues from the factory.

Bobby

If you enjoyed reading about "non-standard scope rail" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!