New To Reloading

PDA

BoomBoom25
January 19, 2010, 08:50 AM
Well as the title states I'm new to reloading or to be a little more truthful I've never dont it in my life AND I'm not really sure were to get started? I have bought a few books and looking at all the equipment and data out there it makes me feel like an idiot. I do won't to learn because its getting harder and harder to find my ammo that I shoot and when I do find it its like $20 a box. Where it used to be about $10. So if anybody could give me a few pointers and maybe some ideas on the best equipment it would be greatly appreciated.

If you enjoyed reading about "New To Reloading" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
jmortimer
January 19, 2010, 09:03 AM
Common thread. Get reloading manual - most recommend Lymans and I would recommend Modern Reloading by Richard Lee especially if you use Lee equipment. Lee Precision equipment is the most cost effective and you can buy an all inclusive "Kit" to start. Graffs sells a Classic Turret Press "kit" otherwise you can get the Lee Kits (non-classics) most anywhere, I always recommend you go to Midway USA web site and read the customer reviews/comments from actual owners regardless if you buy your equiment from another source. The reviews are invaluable. All brands work. Two great presses are the Lee Classic Cast single stage and the Lee Classic Turret. I got two Lee kits, a single stage and a 4 hole turret kit before they came out with the Classic presses. Read the reviews and you will see what I mean. Get whatever brand suits you but if you insist on getting a progressive, i.e. load lots of rounds then go with Dillion or Hornady Lock and Load. Lee Prescision progressives will work but you will have a much steeper learning curve - again read the reviews.

bullseye308
January 19, 2010, 09:15 AM
How close are you to Smyrna/Murfreesboro?

wgaynor
January 19, 2010, 09:32 AM